Space Oddity

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:52 pm

Attached is a small stack.

If one sets the "resizable" in the inspector (coming from the state where resizable is not set), and then adjusts the slider, a series of spurious images appears in the successive renderings of the field. If one clears the "resizable" in the inspector, the field adjusts its height normally.

Doing the same thing by clicking the "reSize" button, does not show this difference. All resizing seems normal.

1- What is going on with these renderings?
2- Why does the button act differently than the inspector?
3- Am I again the only one?

Mac OS 10.13.4. LC 9.5.1

Craig
Oddity.livecode.zip
(1.13 KiB) Downloaded 63 times

Klaus
Posts: 11872
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by Klaus » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:07 pm

Hi Craig,

just teseted, resizable or not, works as advertized, no "ghosting" or whatever.
Mac OS 10.14.6 and LC 9.5.1 on a Mac Mini late 2014.


Best

Klaus

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:06 pm

Klaus.

Thanks for testing. Attached is what I see.
Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 12.06.19 PM.zip
(10.88 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
You may have noticed the double header, a condition that popped up on my machine a few months ago. This goes away when resizable is set, and reappears when cleared. Obviously both are peculiar to my machine.

Craig

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by jmburnod » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:23 pm

Hi,
Am I again the only one?
A new club :D
Works as expected.
Mac OS 10.13 and LC 9.5.0
Best
Jean-Marc

Klaus
Posts: 11872
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by Klaus » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:28 pm

Well, Craig, looks like you are DOOMED! :D

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7848
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:54 pm

dunbarx wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:06 pm
Klaus.

Thanks for testing. Attached is what I see.

Screen Shot 2020-01-16 at 12.06.19 PM.zip

You may have noticed the double header, a condition that popped up on my machine a few months ago. This goes away when resizable is set, and reappears when cleared. Obviously both are peculiar to my machine.
Does the issue recur when the tab is removed? (And why does macOS insist on putting a tab in place when there are no other tabs?)
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:17 am

Richard.
Does the issue recur when the tab is removed? (And why does macOS insist on putting a tab in place when there are no other tabs?)
I had reported this tab thing a while ago. It is completely dependent on the state of the "resizable" property. Except for the slight bit of vertical real estate it uses, there are no issues. But it comes and goes all day as the property changes.

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5474
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by jacque » Sat Jan 18, 2020 12:11 am

It could be that you have a system pref set to open documents in tabs. Choose "Manually" to stop the behavior.

Use tabs in windows on Mac

On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Dock.
Click the “Prefer tabs when opening documents” pop-up menu, then choose an option—Always, In Full Screen Only, or Manually.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... NmTFOaK4P1
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:18 am

Jacque.

Thanks. Will check into that as soon as I get back to my office on Monday. But I have no idea how that could have been changed. Can you see the same thing if you set that preference on your machine? For me, it only happens in LC, nowhere else. This seems odd to me, since your idea is an OS, not a LC thing.

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Mon Jan 20, 2020 3:20 pm

Jacque.

That setting was always "Manually". No change when fooling around with it.

The oddity is not really a tab thing, it is a double titleBar thing:
ddd.png
ddd.png (11.29 KiB) Viewed 1879 times
As I said, this is dependent on the "resizable" property. If set, there is only one titleBar. If cleared, there are two. :shock:

Craig

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7848
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by FourthWorld » Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:16 pm

dunbarx wrote:
Mon Jan 20, 2020 3:20 pm
Jacque.

That setting was always "Manually". No change when fooling around with it.

The oddity is not really a tab thing, it is a double titleBar thing:
ddd.png
Apple calls that a tab. Yes, it looks like a replicated title bar, one of many reasons that showing a tab when a window has only one is a poor choice on their part. But taste aside, it's a tab.
As I said, this is dependent on the "resizable" property. If set, there is only one titleBar. If cleared, there are two. :shock:
Have you considered the possibility that the recipe is the result of an interaction between the resizable property and the presence of Apple's tab?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:24 pm

Richard.
Have you considered the possibility that the recipe is the result of an interaction between the resizable property and the presence of Apple's tab?
I am willing to consider anything. I just wonder why I am the only one who is seeing it.

If I drag such a window around the screen, it reduces in size while the drag is in progress, and is restored when the drag ends. If there is only one "tab", that is, resizable is set to "false", the window drags normally.

OK, fine. But did I mention I wonder why I am the only one?

Craig

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7848
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Space Oddity

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:01 pm

I'm guessing it's because most LC users have that Apple option turned off. FWIW I've never seen their wacko new Tabs at all, and I don't recall turning it off.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4721
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Space Oddity

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jun 04, 2020 4:34 pm

The only time I get a double title bar on Macintosh is when I want to open a multi-page pdf document in GIMP 2.8;
which would rather suggest it is a Macintosh system thing rather than a LiveCode thing.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6810
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Space Oddity

Post by dunbarx » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:31 pm

Richmond.

Could be a Mac thing, and when I say it just appeared one day for no good reason, that does not mean I didn't change something that caused it.

But I didn't.

Nobody has been able to say what might cause it, though some have tried. It does not happen in any other app, and now, finally, somebody else has it as well, so I think it is a LC thing after all. I would love the antibodies.

Craig

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”