Coloured Icons

Something you want to see in a LiveCode product? Want a new forum set up for a specific topic? Talk about it here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3614
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Coloured Icons

Post by richmond62 » Wed May 01, 2019 2:07 pm

It would be really great if Developer Preview and Release Candidate versions of LiveCode
could be given different coloured icons from the Stable versions.

While assigning different coloured icons is easy on Linux
it is a tedious fiddle on Macintosh (never tried it on Windows).

Different coloured icons would make things a whole lot easier with Docks, Launchers, StartBars
and so on.
-
Screenshot 2019-05-01 at 16.06.34.png
Confusing!
Screenshot 2019-05-01 at 16.06.34.png (19.8 KiB) Viewed 822 times

bogs
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by bogs » Wed May 01, 2019 2:25 pm

Your right in that it is definitely easier in 'nix than almost anything. I liked your idea so much I made most of these Lc ones about a year or more ago :D
Selection_001.png
'taint nothin but a thang...
I'll have to dust off my copy of OSX and see how hard it would be to have them show up in the dock.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3614
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by richmond62 » Wed May 01, 2019 3:41 pm

Um . . . . .
-
Screenshot 2019-05-01 at 17.39.02.png
Screenshot 2019-05-01 at 17.39.02.png (13.46 KiB) Viewed 805 times
-
knocking out differently coloured icons is dead easy, and assigning them to items
on an XFCE panel is also dead easy, but, even having converted then to .icn format
and putting them inside LC.app bundles does not guarantee they'll show up in the
Mac Finder or Dock.
-
LCicons.zip
(25.85 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3614
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by richmond62 » Wed May 01, 2019 6:22 pm

220px-Martin_Luther_King,_Jr..jpg
Coloured icon
220px-Martin_Luther_King,_Jr..jpg (16.9 KiB) Viewed 776 times
I just wish I could be as focused and as consistent as Dr King. :)
Last edited by richmond62 on Wed May 01, 2019 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bogs
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by bogs » Wed May 01, 2019 9:18 pm

Well, your certainly right about it being a lot harder on Macs heh. I found out while playing around with this exercise that -
* Apple has ditched icon composer in later OSX versions than I have, opting instead for some clunky iconUtil command.
* The way I used to do it, going to the app folder, right click on the app, choose 'get info', unlock the lock at the bottom (if you have admin rights), then drag the icon to the top icon and whamo, should be changed AS LONG AS the file is compatible.

Took me a while to find out 'png' is not, but if you can open it in almost any other program, like preview, firefox, etc, THEN drag it, it automagically *IS* compatible. Go figure.

Hope the pics help, but if they don't, let me know and I'll make a short film (but Quentin Tarantino I'm not) :D
osxTest [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_002.png
Lc red icon opened in firefox first then dragged on, SUCCESS!!
osxTest [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_001.png
MetaCard icon assigned to Lc 6.7.11 !
Image

Klaus
Posts: 11207
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by Klaus » Wed May 01, 2019 9:46 pm

Quick and dirty Mac solution where original image format does not matter:
1. Copy the (part of an) image you want to add as app icon in an image editing app
2. "Get Info" for app you want to change the icon of
3. Click the icon at the top of that windwo, the icon will show an outline now
4. Paste

Done :D

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3614
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by richmond62 » Wed May 01, 2019 9:51 pm

Icon Composer is still available. In XCode press the XCode menu > Open Developer Tool > More Developer Tools...

In the web site that appears you need to search for "Graphics Tools" and download the dmg file with the same name (around 120 MB). It will contain the Icon Composer app previously distributed with XCode.
Whacko! 8)

bogs
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by bogs » Wed May 01, 2019 10:07 pm

That works too, but it still means apple ditched it, i.e. you don't get it in xCode anymore.

@Klaus, your q&d and mine are more or less identical. I like that for some reason :P
Image

Klaus
Posts: 11207
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by Klaus » Wed May 01, 2019 10:43 pm

bogs wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 10:07 pm
@Klaus, your q&d and mine are more or less identical. I like that for some reason :P
Oh yes, looks like I did not get this when I read it the first time. :D

bogs
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by bogs » Wed May 01, 2019 10:47 pm

Hopefully it means I am getting smarter (but don't bet on it :mrgreen: )
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5114
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by jacque » Thu May 02, 2019 4:38 pm

Another method for distinguishing versions is to hover over the icon in the dock, where the full name and version number are displayed, since LC always includes the version in the app name. Because I usually have at least 3 versions open at a time, that's how I tell them apart.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3614
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Coloured Icons

Post by richmond62 » Thu May 02, 2019 6:18 pm

to hover over the icon in the dock
Indeed.

However that presupposes you don't have other stuff occluding the Dock.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests”