Stack size in 4k display?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Jellobus
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Jellobus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:20 am

Hello, 8)

I am using a conventional 1080p monitor for iOS development but I am thinking to buy a 4k UHD monitor. Will a stack size smaller in a 4k monitor? (Like 50% smaller?)

If it’s the case, I should not buy a 4k monitor because it can be very difficult to deal with tiny objects in a 4k monitor.

Is there anyone using a 4k monitor?

Cheers,

Louis

bogs
Posts: 4681
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by bogs » Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:36 am

Well, I don't have a 4k monitor, but on my 2k monitor everythingi from Lc 1.1 to 9.6.dp3 looks acceptable.
Image

Klaus
Posts: 11827
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Klaus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:50 am

Hi Louis,

if it really too small, don't forget that we can set the SCALEFACTOR of a stack!
Maybe only temporarily in your case.


Best

Klaus

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 716
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Mikey » Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:55 pm

no, it's the same as any monitor setup, it's just that the number of dots is higher. you set the virtual resolution of the display and off you go. you can theoretically set the resolution of a 4k display at 1024x768, if you really wanted to.
on our 84" formal and informal conference space displays, the presenters set the resolution to suit the information being displayed and the audience - if it's two people reviewing a drawing sitting six feet away, they will make it denser (higher resolution), but if they are reviewing production planning spreadsheets, and the room is full, they will set it at something considerably lower, so the person who is 30' away can still read everything.

Jellobus
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Jellobus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:09 pm

Hi Klaus, bogs,

It’s a noob question but I have no idea how small stacks (ios , android apps)are displayed in iMac 27” or 4k monitor.. I need to buy a right monitor for my work soon because my 10 years old monitor start blinking! 8)

I have looked up for scalefactor but it seems like the text size may not be scaled proportionally.

Do you think iMac 27”or 4k monitors are not ideal for mobile app development? Should I just stick with 1080p(2k) monitors?

Thanks for your advice,

Louis

Klaus
Posts: 11827
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Klaus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:21 pm

Hi Louis,

hm, in my experience LC scales EVERYTHING nicely when raising the scalefactor of a stack!?
But I meant to scale the stack only during development, if its size on the screen is too small.
... I have no idea how small stacks (ios , android apps)are displayed in iMac 27” or 4k monitor...
Well, this is simple math: if you have a 5000*3000 pixel resolution monitor then a 1200*1000 pixel stack...
You get the picture. :-)

And sorry, I do not develop for mobile (don't even own a cellphone :-) ) so no advice from me for an appropriate monitor.


Best

Klaus

Jellobus
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Jellobus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:48 pm

Hi Klaus,

So my understanding is the pixel of a 350x700 stack will be visually scaled up like 700x1400 while the physical width and height (350x700) unchanged?

I just don't want to blow up a lot of $$$ for useless a 4k monitor. :lol:

Cheers,

Louis

Klaus
Posts: 11827
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Klaus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:51 pm

Hi Louis,
Jellobus wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:48 pm
So my understanding is the pixel of a 350x700 stack will be visually scaled up like 700x1400 while the physical width and height (350x700) unchanged?
exactly! :D


Best

Klaus

Jellobus
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Jellobus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:16 pm

Thanks!!! have a good day or night!!

Klaus
Posts: 11827
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Klaus » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:24 pm

It is 6:24 PM over here in germany, so I will have a "nice evening". :-)

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by jacque » Thu Apr 30, 2020 5:43 pm

I develop on a 27-inch iMac and it works fine. You don't need to do anything, the stack will display as it does on smaller monitors. It will also keep its pixel dimensions on mobile. In other words, get whatever monitor you want, it will work fine.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Jellobus
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by Jellobus » Wed Jul 01, 2020 4:56 am

Hi, Jacque

Thank you! I got LG ultrawide monitor and it works fine. I love it! :lol:

ajperks
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by ajperks » Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:52 pm

I thought this was an interesting question about something I never had need to think about. Based on some replies, I suspect other users are the same.
Although I use a windows 10, 3840 x 2160 res 15 inch laptop which has been connected to a 1920 x 1080 res 23 inch TV screen as a monitor in a dual screen setup, there is not much difference in the text and APP size (Coverage) on either screen.
This is simply because the computer operating system is set by default to display content at a sensible size. I expect Apple do the same, by default. You can tweak this percentage to match your eyesight and preference.
For example, the small laptop screen magnifies the image by 175% (in my case) but does not alter the monitor image.
On that basis, you should have no practical issues with working on a high res monitor.
HOWEVER, what you will need to think about is the physical size of the screen and your distance from it.
https://www.bing.com/search?q=smallest+ ... A1&PC=DCTS
The above chart shows viewing distance in relation to screen size and resolution.
I expect you will buy a proper Pro monitor, not a 4K TV screen for work. Note that 4K TV screens start at 43 inches which is unsuitable as a monitor. You will destroy your neck, scanning from side to side.
I hope this helps.

okk
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:37 am

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by okk » Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:29 pm

Hi,
A 4K monitor gives you more options to set up your ideal work environment. I work an a 5k iMac and it has been wonderful. I usually keep monitor resolution at around 3000 px wide as a good compromise between screen real estate and text size. But sometimes I work with large stack sizes e.g. 4000 px x 1200 px, then it is very handy to be able to switch to the maximum resolution to see the full stack without any scaling. I use a small app called Display Menu that gives you more options to set screen resolutions for your monitor (on MacOS). But additionally a 4K monitor used at FullHD resolution gives you also a sharper image in most cases.

Best
Oliver

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Stack size in 4k display?

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:36 pm

Why would you spend a lot of money so that everything looks smaller?
-
Screenshot 2020-07-05 at 22.34.49.png
-
3 monitors fished out of a dumpster round the back of my bank: Rocky or what?

Some wag stated elsewhere, "my bank doesn't chuck out working monitors." To
which I replied, "Change your bank." 8)

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”