App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Mon May 20, 2019 4:10 pm

I found there is Android App Bundle & Dynamic delivery, a new APK uploading option. This option reduces APK size significantly. Is it possible to use this option with the APK built with LC?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Louis
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 11.00.20 AM.png
Dynamic Delivery
Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 11.00.35 AM.png
Android App Bundle
Last edited by Jellobus on Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Mon Jun 24, 2019 11:22 am

Hi Louis,

good question of which i also don't know the answer.
Perhaps it is only applicable when the app is made with Android Studio or pure Java/Kotlin.
I' m not using it, i also opted out for Google Signing.

I'd like to know too.

Regards,
Jerry
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

cusinger3
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 11:44 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by cusinger3 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:27 pm

Any more info on this?

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Fri Oct 11, 2019 12:08 am

Now, Without using the App Bundle feature, you can't even publish a new app to Google Play. I got the warning message below during the uploading process. The "Next" button is disabled except for an optimized apk. It seems that there are no other choices available. I hope this issue get fixed ASAP.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-10-10 at 6.03.38 PM.png

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:34 pm

It is just a warning.
You can go thru and publish your app.

Only thing is which i noticed, in the frontend of the store there will be a message that "this app is not optimized for your app".
Maybe causing people not downloading your app.
So actually they are forcing you to use it, so the message goes away.

edit: also read the last sentence of the message...but even then it will say not optimized
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:09 pm

Hi, sphere

I read the last sentence but it can't go further anymore. The button is disabled and there is no way to publish. It seems like it's mandatory now to use it if an app accommodates multiple architectures. I set to build for armv7 and arm64 in the standalone settings.

I was advised by the support that I should build and upload each version separately. If it's the case, Will I have two separate apps with the same contents? ( In this case, two identical apps will be searched by users.) or Does Google Play accommodate uploading two APKs in a single Store listing?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 10.03.36 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 10.03.36 AM.png (8.85 KiB) Viewed 285 times

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:20 pm

You can create 1 big app with all 4 in. Or 4 separate builds. Or 1 build for 2x arm and 1 build for 2xX86.
But this discussion was also on the list. X86 and x86_64 are almost not used, still you have to provide them.
So last time i did 2 separate builds for armv7 and arm64 & a single build for x86 and x86_64.
So upload 3x apk for your app. Google will push the correct one to the users phone/tablet.
Note that each version must be higher.
So armv7 will be 1
Arm64 will be 2
The x86s in one build will be 3
Next time increase
So armv7 will be 4
Arm64 will be 5
X86s will 6
Etcetera, it's ab9it cumbersome, but that's how it works
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:36 pm

Great advice!

I have two questions to confirm that I got it right:
So armv7 will be 1
Arm64 will be 2
The x86s in one build will be 3
1. Do three APKs have an identical Identifier, Version name but different version code in the standalone settings?
2. Do they have the same app URL? (of course they would be same if a single store listing accommodates multiple APKs)

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:26 pm

1. Do three APKs have an identical Identifier, Version name but different version code in the standalone settings?
Yes that all stays the same, except the version code changes indeed
a.png
2. Do they have the same app URL? (of course they would be same if a single store listing accommodates multiple APKs)
Yes they keep the same URL in the Play Store.
Visitors in the Play Store just see one instance of your app, and according to the architecture of their mobile, the correct build apk will be pushed to it.
The IDE now also works similair when pushing a test to a real device.
Just add each build apk or bundled apk to your app project (when you create an app release)
b.png
Have fun!
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:37 pm

Fantastic! That's very detailed explanation. I really appreciate your help!

Have a great weekend! :D

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:51 pm

No problem :)
Same to you!

nb. with your next release of the same app, the version name needs also to increase of course
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:16 am

Again :cry:

Unfortunately, uploading multiple APKs is not allowed anymore. I created 4 separate APKs for each system structure; armv7, arm64, x86, x86_64. and I uploaded the first APK but I got 1 error message & 1 warning sign. There is no next button available but only go back or discard buttons appear.

Even if It was targeting a single system structure, it shows the same warning message I got previously. It seems that Google made the App Bundle mandatory for developers.

I attached two messages I got.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 6.55.18 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-10-11 at 6.55.41 PM.png

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:57 am

Hi Jellobus, i've not seen that error before. And i uploaded/updated last week.
Will check today and come back to this. As far as i remember my 64bits apps are seen as native.
I will check the notices at the apks in the dev console.
Seeing this error looks like your 64bits versions have 32bit code in them.
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Jellobus
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by Jellobus » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:24 pm

The error was shown for the armv7 app that is made for the 32bit system. It's possible that new guidelines applied for new apps while current apps able to upload without App Bundle.

sphere
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: App Bundle & Dynamic Delivery

Post by sphere » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:39 pm

I don't know. Normally Google will warn before such a change, so that's why i doubt that this is the case.

I see at one of my releases that all 4 are seen as Native.
So with every build you made with LC950stable(i assume you use that) you increased the version code right?

It's strange because for each release you need to provide 4 separate apk's 32 and 64bit, or a bundle of which you can decide how many there are in.
But it have to be 4 APK's (1x ARMv7, 1x ARMv8_64, 1x X86, 1x X86_64).
So if that is the case i don't know what's happening. So either then you can ask Google or ask the LC dev team.

Or that someone else can jump in who knows some details if Google have changed another thing.

Sorry i can't be of more help.
2018 Worldwide Mobile Market share: Android 84.4% !!!, iOs 15.1%, others 0.1%

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”