Pink Braces

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Pink Braces

Post by richmond62 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 6:56 pm

What exactly is the point of these pink "things" that appear when I change something inwith some
braces/brackets/parentheses?
-
Screenshot 2019-03-16 at 19.01.18.png
Screenshot 2019-03-16 at 19.01.18.png (7.53 KiB) Viewed 228 times
-
braces.jpg
braces.jpg (5.5 KiB) Viewed 226 times

Klaus
Posts: 10752
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Pink Braces

Post by Klaus » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:11 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 6:56 pm
What exactly is the point of these pink "things" that appear when I change something inwith some
braces/brackets/parentheses?
Que? :shock:

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Pink Braces

Post by richmond62 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:34 pm

In the scriptEditor of LC 9.0.3 rc-2 (and earlier) running on macOS 10.14,
on changing the contents of something in parentheses (see my picture
above) odd, pink blocks appear over the parentheses.

Klaus
Posts: 10752
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Pink Braces

Post by Klaus » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:45 pm

AHA!

Obviously someone activated "Bracket Highlighting" in Scripteditormenu -> Edit -> Options 8)

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Pink Braces

Post by richmond62 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:10 pm

Obviously someone activated
Well I didn't: so, apart from the fairies at the bottom of my garden (and as I live in a top-floor
flat there are a lot of them), I can only assume that was set by default.

Klaus
Posts: 10752
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Pink Braces

Post by Klaus » Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:16 pm

Yep, "someone" could also mean Livecode Ltd. :-)

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Pink Braces

Post by richmond62 » Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:17 pm

crud.png
-
I turned "those" off.

And, personally, I think it stinks when all sorts of new features are
turned on by default at install.

bogs
Posts: 2997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Pink Braces

Post by bogs » Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:38 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:17 pm
And, personally, I think it stinks when all sorts of new features are
turned on by default at install.
Hard to say how stinky it is, lots of (programming) text editors either offer this as an option, or have it on as default. Lots of people find it useful, lots of others not so much. I can deal either way (I have it on in Geany, but not Pluma), so I guess I feel it is less stinky, but I could see it being stinky to others.

Highlighting it in pink though, MY GOD WHAT WERE THEY THINKING ?!? :twisted:
Image

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4873
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Pink Braces

Post by jacque » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:33 pm

It's using the user's default hilite color, and Richmond has apparently selected it. Mine are blue.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3065
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Pink Braces

Post by richmond62 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:58 pm

Screenshot 2019-03-17 at 19.55.52.png
-
Screenshot 2019-03-17 at 19.57.41.png
-
Um . . .

bogs
Posts: 2997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Pink Braces

Post by bogs » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:28 pm

Oh wow, Richmond and I use the exact same color selection handles !
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”