Visual effects going to substack?

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
kpeters
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Visual effects going to substack?

Post by kpeters » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:11 pm

Not working - what am I doing wrong. Docs say to use 'go .. in window' in this case - at least that's how I interpret it.

TIA,
Kai


Code: Select all

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
on openStack
  send "Continue" to me in 3 seconds
end openStack

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
on Continue
  visual effect "wipe down slow"
  close this stack
  go to stack "Login" in new window
end Continue


malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Post by malte » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:16 pm

hi kai,

try:

on Continue
visual effect "wipe down slow"
go to stack "Login" in the window of this stack
end Continue

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Klaus » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:30 pm

Hi Kai,

in other words visual effects only work in ONE window.

kpeters
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Post by kpeters » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:58 pm

Then how would you interpret this?
The visual effect command affects only navigation within a window. If you want to create a transition effect when moving between stacks, use the go...in window form of the go command:

visual effect wipe down
go stack "Index" in window "Part 2" -- replaces stack on screen

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Klaus » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:00 pm

Hi Kai,

but you could fake a visual effect with stacks, at least the "dissolve" one.

1. Use a repeat loop and set the blendlevel of stack one until it is totally transparent.
2. Hide this stack
3. Use another repeat loop and set the blendlevel of stack two to "fade" this one in

Know what I mean?


Regards

Klaus

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Klaus » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:02 pm

Hi Kai,

the docs are correct since this will take place in ONE window :-)

kpeters
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Post by kpeters » Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:00 pm

I'll take your word for it.

The docs are poorly written in part! In the example stated, if see a line saying ...'in window "Part 2" I infer that this refers to a second window.

That's just the way my brain works.

Guess I will take your blendlevel approach then - thanks!

Kai

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Klaus » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:18 pm

Hi Kai,

the blendlevel approach will be the better (crossplatform) choice, since the nice dissolve (a "fade out" actually) effect you see on the mac relies on QuickTime!

If QT is not installed (on windows) you will get this boring and ugly pixel dissolve effect you may know from Director.

You can check the difference by yourself:

...
set the dontuseqteffects to true
## switch QT OFF for transitions
## don't forget to switch it ON again later!
## do something with a dissolve effect and be prepared to be bored :-D
...


Best

Klaus

trevix
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by trevix » Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:01 pm

but you could fake a visual effect with stacks, at least the "dissolve" one.

1. Use a repeat loop and set the blendlevel of stack one until it is totally transparent.
2. Hide this stack
3. Use another repeat loop and set the blendlevel of stack two to "fade" this one in
Hi.
This does not seems to work on iOS simulator.
??
Trevix
OSX 14.3.1 xCode 15 LC 10 DP7 iOS 15> Android 7>

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by Klaus » Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:07 pm

It not only seems to! :D
Since we can only have one stack/window open at a time, this does not work on mobile at all.

trevix
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by trevix » Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:15 pm

I was referring to this:

Code: Select all

repeat with U = 0 to 100
set the blend level of image "something" to U
end repeat
Somehow is not fading/redrawing on the simulator (ok on OSX). No matter if inter a delay in the loop
But I don't see why it could not be:

Code: Select all

repeat with U = 0 to 100
set the blend level of image "something" to U
end repeat
set the blend level of image "something2" of stack2 to 100
go visible stack2
repeat with U = 100 down to 0
set the blend level of image "something2" to U
end repeat
But on simulator doesn't work
Trevix
OSX 14.3.1 xCode 15 LC 10 DP7 iOS 15> Android 7>

Klaus
Posts: 13821
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by Klaus » Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:40 pm

Well, you quoted my "stack" trick! 8)
Sorry, no idea why this does not works in the simulator.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by jacque » Sat Jul 11, 2020 5:35 pm

BlendLevel is one word. Try it that way, it should work.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

trevix
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Visual effects going to substack?

Post by trevix » Sun Jul 12, 2020 8:34 am

Ok: in order to make it work I had to do a send in time > loop.
Boh. Thanks anyway for your answers.
Trevix
OSX 14.3.1 xCode 15 LC 10 DP7 iOS 15> Android 7>

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”