Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 2:06 pm

Hello everyone!

I''m having trouble deploying my app:
- it has a splashstack wich needed to save customprops of the other stacks
- have 3 stacks /two, three, four/ with datagrid on them/only one card - use it to popup and take data or input data/, so can not make them substack of the stack, which has substacks and cards as well /can call it stack"one"/
- on standalone settings of stack "one" i put all other three stacks under stacks setting
- on standalone settings of stack "splash" i have stack "one" /automatically with all other three filled in as well/

Deploying it i am able to see the stack splash but nothing happen /having in script "go to the stack "one", and after close this stack etc/. Running it in IDE works well. In the standalone settings if anything changed, still nothing happens.
So my main question is: how to make splash screen work to open stack "one" and then other stacks work on android.

Thanks in advance :roll:

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9287
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by richmond62 » Tue May 19, 2020 2:59 pm

Let's not worry about Android at the moment; let's just worry about how you get from the Splash stack to your main stack.

If you could post the code here it would be a bit easier to work out what is or isn't going on.

Just for fun I decided to "have a go."
I made a stack called "SPLOSH", with a substack called "MAIN MAN."
SPLOSH has this stackScript:

Code: Select all

on preOpenStack
   set the loc of me to the screenLoc
   set the vis of me to true
end preOpenStack

on openStack
   wait for 10 secs
   set the vis of me to false
   open stack "MAIN MAN"
end openStack
Attachments
SPLOSH.livecode.zip
here's the stack.
(1.06 KiB) Downloaded 183 times

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 3:23 pm

Hello! Thank you for answering..

i have the same code like you have. But i have the splash stack, and i have stack one, two, three, four.
Those are not substacks. i've created them mas a stack with datagrid and fields etc. on them, these stacks pop-up when user needs to input from lists etc. But they can not be substack since datagrid creates substack of them, so after that, can not put them under stack "one" for example.

Do you might have something for this scenario ,please?

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 3:33 pm

Sorry Richmond...
It is looks like this:

Splash stack
card
Stack "one"
card
card
substack etc

stack "two"
card


and so on.

So i deployed many apps with splash screen and substack, there is no problem of the deployment,if you do not want to save cProps of stacks, then it is sufficent.
But i have to store things in cProps, so "save this stack" in script should save cProps.

Did i make it clearerinf any ways

Thanks

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 4:47 pm

It is me again. Let me explain the problem better...

I created an app Stack "one" which has 5 cards and 3 substacks. During development i decided to use stacks i have created earlier, something like a datepicker, or stack with one datagrid on, to get data from a databaase, and when user needs to rate something it pops up and then the user can pick an item from datagrid etc.
At this time i ended up with my original stack and the other stacks. Then i could manage to set the datepicker stack as substak of stack"one" - because it does not have substack - , but the others have substacks of them, what the datagrid created, so they cannot be set to be a substack of any other stack. /throws an error/.
In stack "one" i need to use "set cProp of this stack to field "xy" " kind of script, to save some information.
At this poin i've decided to use a splash stack, which worked well on windows, as it should. Saving cProps, pop-ups etc. just fine.
Then i decided to deploy it for an android tablet i happened to have. Now there my problem arises...
As i see, probably or defenetly i made a wrong set up in standalone app settings on some ways. In windows deployment i deploy the splash stack . In the standalone settings of isplash stack Stack"one" has been added to the stacks.
Since stack "one" also have the other stacks added in its standalone settings, when i add stack "one" to the standalone settings of the Splash stack, then all stacks will go automaticly with it. I have only one characterset "roboto" been added to standalone file set copy to reference. So it is quite basic.
With this set up i deploy to android it fails to work on the device.

So my quiestion just remains...How do i deploy it properly to android?
/if it is not necessary, i wont create a textfile on writeable location to save my stuff/


Thanks again for all

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by jmburnod » Tue May 19, 2020 5:52 pm

Hi gnor.
i have to store things in cProps, so "save this stack" in script should save cProp
Why not store cProp into txt files ?
Best regards
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 6:18 pm

Hello jmburnod !

Thanks for your attention. Is it the only way, or is there any other than saving in text file?
Ok, i will save it on text file.
So how am i suppose to deploy - my splash stack and the other stacks like i have described above - for android?

Thanks

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by jmburnod » Tue May 19, 2020 6:45 pm

Sorry,
I never made an android app
I made only iOS app and I always use txt files (no confidential) in documents folder to save and import data in standalone.
https://alternatic.ch

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by Thierry » Tue May 19, 2020 7:01 pm

gnor wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 6:18 pm
Is it the only way, or is there any other than saving in text file?
Ok, i will save it on text file.
Hi,

Well, if you can save a text file in the document folder,
then I don't see why you couldn't save a stack there.

My guess on this is that your stacks are part of the app and there,
you certainly can't save (write to disk) to this disk place.

Strange that Klaus didn't shim in yet :roll:

my 2 cents,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 7:05 pm

Hi Jean-Marc!

Thank's for your care, but my main question is to deploy to android with the above scenario. I understand to save cProps in text file - never done it yet, but i've read about it. Still want to know: is it possible to deploy the above mentioned to android , and if so how would i do it?

Thanks for everyone try to help

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 7:09 pm

Hi Thierry!

Thank's for poppin'in...

Could you please explain little more detailed what you've just wrote?

Thanks

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Tue May 19, 2020 7:38 pm

Hi Thierry !

Do you mean in standalone setting of stack "splash" should not put other stacks?
Or standalone settings of stack "one" should not have the other stacks placed?
If i deploy splash only and the rest of the stacks copied to the files on standalone settings?

pls

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7215
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by jacque » Wed May 20, 2020 4:33 pm

I think Thierry is on the right track. You cannot save any files in the app directory, that folder is not writable. You need to copy the stacks to the document folder and use them from there. But I think it would be easier to just save a preferences stack or text file to specialfolderpath(" documents") and store user info that way.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

gnor
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 10:32 pm

Re: Dploy an app with splash stack and other main stacks

Post by gnor » Wed May 20, 2020 8:04 pm

Hi Jacque!

Thank's for responding. Thank for all of you, defenetly will save props in text file in documents folder.

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”