Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

andyh1234
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Eccles UK
Contact:

Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by andyh1234 » Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:42 pm

Any ideas?

Ive been compiling the same app for about a year now without any problems, I did an update today and re-compiled and hit a wall.

The error RunRev reports is...

A stack "answer dialog" in file (path to my stack) is already in memory. The Revolution UI does not distiguish stacks with have identical names, so editing these stack files which both are in memory could result in data loss.

I click OK (the only option) then get...

A stack with the same name as the one you are trying to open is already open. Before loading (path to my stack) what do you want to do with (path to my stack)? Options are save, purge and cancel, all send me round in a loop back to screen 1 so I have to force quit Runrev.

Has anyone seen this before?

Andy

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by Mark » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:44 am

Hi Andy,

Yes, I see this regularly. Often, it has to do with passwords. Have you set a password for a stack? Or have you set passwords in the standalone settings? Both?

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

andyh1234
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Eccles UK
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by andyh1234 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:22 am

Yes, I have passwords set for the standalone.

Ive gone back to version 3.5 an it compiles fine there so I guess Ill have to stick with that until the problem is resolved.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by Mark » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:30 am

Hi Andy,

This is quite interesting actually, because it happens in 3.5 too. I wonder why it works fine in 3.5 and not in 4.0 this time. Oh well, we can only speculate, probably.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

andyh1234
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Eccles UK
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by andyh1234 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:40 pm

Im happy sticking with 3.5 at the moment, but hopefully this can be fixed as I had to go back to a backup (luckily I always backup before compiling).

There are obviously some pretty significant changes in the way 4 compiles as the app size jumps up too.

Andy

andyh1234
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Eccles UK
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by andyh1234 » Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:41 pm

If it helps, ive found what seems to be the problem for my app.

I had set the 'destroystack' property of the stacks to true, turning of back to false means v4 can compile the app, turn it back to true and it all goes horribly wrong!

Version 3.5 has no problems with the setting.

Andy

massung
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by massung » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:02 am

I just got this with my stack as well. I tried many things, and destroyStack didn't matter for me at all. I'm using Enterprise, and - in my case - I tracked it down to saving standalones for multiple platforms at the same time. If I save for OS X, everything is fine. If I save for Windows, it's fine as well. If I attempt to save for both platforms, all bets are off.

Also in my case (not sure if this is the same for you Andy), it always seems to start the "infinite loop" when attempting to add the database drivers to the saved application (in my case I'm using PostgreSQL).

Since there's a workaround, it isn't that terrible at the moment. Saving twice isn't a huge headache for me. But it sure did take a considerable amount of time to figure out what was wrong. I'll try and add a bug for this tomorrow; it's a little late now.

Hope that helps you, too, Andy.

A minor feature request to the Rev dev team given this last bit of heartache...

With the first crazy save that I went through, I'd clicked cancel many, many times, and eventually it went into the crazy save, purge, load, save, etc. loop. After about a minute of doing this (a very looong 60 seconds...) it finally did save an (invalid) application. But, along with this it actually had modified my stack -- it had added many sub stacks to it, which ended up causing me even more headaches when trying to start up again. When I finally got my stack open again, I had to go into the application browser, remove the added substacks, save, retry again, etc.

Okay, onto the feature request: is it possible to have Rev - after saving, but before building the standalone - make a backup of my stack (optionally) so that, should something go horribly wrong, I'm not left wondering if I've just lost days of work?

Thanks!

Jeff M.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9801
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by FourthWorld » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:06 pm

Jeff, do any of your stacks have passwords set before build time?

This note from the Rev 4 Engine Change Log may be relevant:
Stack password security
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In order to ensure an ongoing degree of security for stack passwords we will no longer guarantee that it will be possible to set the passKey of a stack in an engine with version prior to the one in which its password was set. In particular, if you set the password of a stack in 4.0.0-dp-2 you will not be able to set its passKey (in order to access scripts) in any version prior to 4.0.0-dp-2.

Note that this change does not in anyway affect the functionality of stacks - they will continue to run in older engines - you will just not be able to decrypt the scripts for viewing/editing in older engines.

Due to this change you are strongly advised to reserve the use of stack passwords to the point of deployment and/or distribution. We strongly recommend you do not set the password of the stack during the development process.
I've had all manner of strange behavior with v4, but only with stacks which had their password set in an earlier version. If any of your mainstacks, substacks, libraries, etc. had their password set in the IDE prior to v4, it may be worth trying this experiment: remove the passwords and then rebuild.

Please let us know how that works out. I'm trying to gather info for a bug report on this, but the symptoms I'm getting here have been difficult to pin down so any additional input would be helpful.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

massung
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by massung » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:17 pm

FourthWorld wrote:Jeff, do any of your stacks have passwords set before build time?
Nope. And none of these are old stacks updated for 4.0. This was a fresh new application created with RevE 4.0.

Jeff M.

andyh1234
Posts: 442
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Eccles UK
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by andyh1234 » Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:46 pm

Ive tried a few combinations now.

If I set the destroystacks to false then the app will compile in v3.5 and v4.

The passwords do not seem to matter, I have gone back to v3.5, cleared them and re-opened in v4 but with the destroystacks set to true the compile errors.

However, as you suggested, simply compiling the platforms one at a time fixes the problem as well, even with destroystacks set to true, so im going for that option for the time being!

Thanks for the help, it is appreciated (as always!)

Andy

t-rex22
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:56 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by t-rex22 » Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:25 pm

I'm finding an issue where destroystacks (set during standalone creation) is not actually removing the stacks from memory on Windows PC's. It appears to work on Mac, but not Window's.

t-rex22
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:56 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by t-rex22 » Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:19 am

Apparently my problem was tied to using a trial version of Studio. Once I purchased the license the destroystack command appeared to work.

BvG
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1236
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Zurich
Contact:

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by BvG » Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:04 pm

Various teststacks and stuff:
http://bjoernke.com

Chat with other RunRev developers:
chat.freenode.net:6666 #livecode

oliverk
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by oliverk » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:54 am

Hi,

I think this issue is related to a certain preference setting. It appears to be fixed in the development builds of the next version of Revolution which are available to our enterprise customers. However if you are using 4.0, I think the problem can be worked around by changing the preference "If destroyStack is false, when closing last stack in file:" to something other than "Ask". This can be found by doing Edit -> Preferences -> Files & Memory.

Regards
Oliver
Oliver Kenyon
Software Developer
Runtime Revolution

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Problems compiling app with RunRev 4

Post by Mag » Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:00 pm

Mon Jul 2014
I'm encountering a similar problem with LiveCode 6.6.2 :roll:
Attachments
screen.png

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”