Newby help request to get me started

LiveCode Builder is a language for extending LiveCode's capabilities, creating new object types as Widgets, and libraries that access lower-level APIs in OSes, applications, and DLLs.

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

simon.schvartzman

Newby help request to get me started

Post by simon.schvartzman » Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:15 pm

Hi all, I'm new to Externals and desperately in need of help.

My first challenge is an external to check if BT is enabled in Android.

Heather (kindly enough) has provided some code but I'm getting an error which I don't know how to fix and even worst I don't know where can I look for help. It seems to be a problem with the parameter definition of one of the calls (as described below) but since I wasn't able to learn how the definition should be I'm in a dead lock.

So, this is the code

Code: Select all

library community.livecode.ss.btstatus

metadata title is "BT Status"
metadata author is "SS"
metadata version is "1.0.0"

use com.livecode.foreign
use com.livecode.java

foreign handler JavaGetDefaultBluetoothAdapter() returns JObject binds to "java:android.bluetooth.BluetoothAdapter>getDefaultAdapter()Landroid/bluetooth/BluetoothAdapter;!static"

foreign handler JavaCheckIfBluetoothIsEnabled() returns JBoolean binds to "java:android.bluetooth.BluetoothAdapter>isEnabled()Z"

public handler CheckIfBluetoothIsEnabled() returns Boolean
	unsafe
		variable tBluetoothAdapter as JObject
		put JavaGetDefaultBluetoothAdapter() into tBluetoothAdapter
	        variable tIsEnabled as Boolean
		put JavaCheckIfBluetoothIsEnabled(tBluetoothAdapter) into tIsEnabled
                return tIsEnabled
	end unsafe
end handler
end library
and this is the error log
9:59 AM: Compiling module /Users/simonschvartzman/Desktop/SegnaPunto/Externals/BTStatus/BTStatus.lcb
9:59 AM: Error: on line 19 ():