Trouble with 'load extension'

LiveCode Builder is a language for extending LiveCode's capabilities, creating new object types as Widgets, and libraries that access lower-level APIs in OSes, applications, and DLLs.

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Trouble with 'load extension'

Post by trevordevore » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:07 pm

I'm trying to manually load some extensions into a project. I have a splash stack that is making the following calls prior to opening the stack file that has the widgets in it.

Code: Select all

put "modules/" into item -5 to -1 of theExtensionPath

load extension (theExtensionPath & "svgIconButton.lcm")
load extension (theExtensionPath & "labelText")
I've confirmed that theExtensionPath & "svgIconButton.lcm" points to a valid path. I don't get any message in 'the result'. Should load extension be working? If so, any ideas as to what I might be doing wrong?
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Trouble with 'load extension'

Post by trevordevore » Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:08 am

Never mind, I got it working. I had left one extension out and had misnamed two of the files when moving the module.lcm files into my app distribution folder.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Trouble with 'load extension'

Post by trevordevore » Wed Apr 22, 2015 2:08 pm

Just a note that I have now successfully built and run a standalone using LC 8 and 19 extensions! I am manually loading all of the extensions right now which is a little cumbersome as I have to copy things around each time I update one. (My understanding is that we will be able to specify extensions to build into a standalone with DP-3.) But other than that, everything is looking fantastic.
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”