Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

LiveCode Builder is a language for extending LiveCode's capabilities, creating new object types as Widgets, and libraries that access lower-level APIs in OSes, applications, and DLLs.

Moderators: LCMark, LCfraser

Post Reply
Zryip TheSlug
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:15 pm
Contact:

Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

Post by Zryip TheSlug » Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:49 pm

If I'm following the "format" documentation about casting a numeric as a string

Code: Select all

public handler myHandler()
   variable tNum as Number
   variable tNumString as String

   put 5 into tNum
   format tNum as string
   put the result into tNumString
   log tNumString
end handler
The result is not 5 but 5.000000 even if the variable tNum is defined as an Integer.

if we have this handler

Code: Select all

public handler myHandler()
   variable tNum as Number

   put 5 into tNum
   log tNum
end handler
The result is 5

If we are introducing a loop:

Code: Select all

public handler myHandler()
  variable tLine as Integer
  repeat with tLine from 1 up to 3
      log tLine
  end repeat
end handler
The result is:
1
2.000000
3.000000
TheSlug
http://www.aslugontheroad.com - Tutorials, demo stacks and plugins for LiveCode
Data Grid Helper - An intuitive interface for building LiveCode's Data Grids
Excel Library- Extends the LiveCode language for controlling MS Excel

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

Post by trevordevore » Mon Apr 06, 2015 10:02 pm

This is a known issue. For the time being, @LCMark gave me his handler to use when formatting a number as a string and you just want the integer representation.

Code: Select all

handler FormatInt(in pNumber as Number) returns String
	variable tNumberString as String

	put pNumber formatted as string into tNumberString

	if "." is in tNumberString then
		variable tDotOffset
		put the first offset of "." in tNumberString into tDotOffset
		delete char tDotOffset to (the number of chars in tNumberString) of tNumberString
	end if

	return tNumberString
end handler
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

Zryip TheSlug
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

Post by Zryip TheSlug » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:44 pm

Thanks for sharing, Trevor.
TheSlug
http://www.aslugontheroad.com - Tutorials, demo stacks and plugins for LiveCode
Data Grid Helper - An intuitive interface for building LiveCode's Data Grids
Excel Library- Extends the LiveCode language for controlling MS Excel

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

Post by peter-b » Tue Apr 07, 2015 9:31 pm

trevordevore wrote:This is a known issue. For the time being, @LCMark gave me his handler to use when formatting a number as a string and you just want the integer representation.
That was me, but I'm flattered to be confused with @LCMark.

Unfortunately this has turned out to be an (even) more challenging fix that we expected, so I'm afraid it won't be fixed in 8.0.0-dp-2. Sorry. :cry:
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

trevordevore
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1005
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Formatting a numeric as a string - Issue?

Post by trevordevore » Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:20 pm

@peter-b - AKA @LCMark
Trevor DeVore
ScreenSteps - https://www.screensteps.com

LiveCode Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode
LiveCode Builder Repos - https://github.com/search?q=user%3Atrevordevore+topic:livecode-builder

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode Builder”