Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Hohan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:10 am

Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by Hohan » Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:59 am

Hi,
When I save my application as standalone under Windows. When I run it, the text on the answer boxes is white and barely readable on the light gray background.

While in LiveCode itself the texts are in black like it should.


Who can tell me what to do? Thanks.

stam
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by stam » Fri Dec 22, 2023 9:09 am

Hi Hohan, and welcome to the forum!
What do you mean by 'answer boxes'? Is this a text field, label, a graphic or the answer dialog?

In general:
If you don't set a backgroundColor explicitly, it will inherit the backgroundColor of the card, usually this is an issue.
If you have set a backgroundColor, make sure the 'opaque' property of the control is set to true...

Stam

Hohan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:10 am

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by Hohan » Fri Dec 22, 2023 1:31 pm

Thank you. I will try. How is it possible that the application does not display white letters on a gray background in the development environment (LiveCode), but only does that in the standalone (.exe)?

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Fri Dec 22, 2023 3:11 pm

@Stam.

I read "answer boxes" as answer dialogs.

@Hohan, please confirm.

If so, however, we must all remember that everything in LiveCode is "just a stack". So it is possible to:

Code: Select all

set the textColor of stack "answer dialog" to "gray"
And that will be how the way things are until something better comes along. Is there a chance that this outrage might have happened?

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Fri Dec 22, 2023 3:46 pm

My last post begs the issue of something the OP pointed out, that is, why does it seem normal in the IDE, but not as a standalone?

Craig

Hohan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:10 am

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by Hohan » Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:01 pm

Hi Graig,

Thanks. Unfortunately, I am not the most talented programmer. I meant indeed answer dialogs.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Fri Dec 22, 2023 5:51 pm

I am hardly talented myself.

Can you post a screenshot of one of those faded dialogs?

Have you tried to test the handler I posted earlier? You can do that one-liner from the message box, and then just make an answer dialog somewhere. Does it look similar? I only used "gray" because it was convenient, but it may look sort of the same.

In any event, I have no issues with solving a problem without understanding the solution. What happens to your permanent LC world overall if you simply:

Code: Select all

set the textColor of stack "answer dialog" to "black"
Does it fix the issue? And does that issue stay fixed?

Craig

Hohan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:10 am

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by Hohan » Sat Dec 23, 2023 3:01 am

Hi Graig,
Yes, I solved it via the prospect inspector of the "Answer Dialog". However, the setting is always reset when I restart LC.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Sat Dec 23, 2023 3:15 pm

Hohan.
Yes, I solved it via the prospect inspector of the "Answer Dialog". However, the setting is always reset when I restart LC.
Well, I am stumped. Do you mean "object inspector"? The "project browser"? If so, and either way, I am beyond stumped, since the "answer dialog", which is a stack, and a modal one at that, does not present itself for examination.

Did you mean that you set the textColor of that stack, which does indeed exist and lurks invisibly until summoned, in the manner I suggested earlier?

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Sat Dec 23, 2023 3:37 pm

Hohan.

If you said "yes" to anything I mentioned so far, then I have no idea how the textColor of the "answer dialog" stack keeps changing in a new session.

To go off into the weeds, one of my favorite places, you will recall Stam mentioning that if a property of a certain control is empty, it may inherit that property from its parent, likely the card. But the Answer dialog is its own stack, and setting a property of its field (there is only one) should lock that down. In a new session, however, that stack may default to the shaded value you see, if that property of the stack is somehow set that way.

All this implies you shouid at a minimum delete the LC preferences, and likely the program itself, and start fresh with a new build. Save all your stacks first.

The fact that you can address this is nice, but of no comfort at all.

Craig

Hohan
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2023 2:10 am

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by Hohan » Sun Dec 24, 2023 12:13 am

Graig, how can I display screenshots in this forum? I am not allowed to put an url between theseImage

stam
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by stam » Sun Dec 24, 2023 12:51 am

Save your screenshot as a jpg and shrink the size so it's no more than 200 kb.
you can then use the 'attachment' tab under the post you're typing to upload it. You can use the button to place it inline; if you don't it will appear at the end of your post.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Sun Dec 24, 2023 2:26 am

Stam (Hohan).

What is the minimum number of posts required before one can attach something? It is not a large number, but we are only at 5.

Craig

stam
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by stam » Sun Dec 24, 2023 4:53 am

dunbarx wrote:
Sun Dec 24, 2023 2:26 am
Stam (Hohan).

What is the minimum number of posts required before one can attach something? It is not a large number, but we are only at 5.

Craig
No idea, but I have a notion it might be 7 or 9

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Text Answer box is white in the stand alone.

Post by dunbarx » Sun Dec 24, 2023 5:05 pm

Maybe 10?

Hohan. Post a handful of comments here quickly. We will understand. Talk about the good ol' HC days or the nonsense of woke culture, anything.

Certainly after ten you can then post content...

Craig

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”