Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Simon Knight
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Gunthorpe, North Lincs, UK

Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Post by Simon Knight » Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:38 pm

Hi,

Sorry for the long subject title.

I have been writing an application that copies and renames image files. I have incorporated some of Scott Rossi's graphic ideas using graphics as buttons, a fancy list that uses the standard list , not a datagrid and a nice progress circle that he built. Otherwise the stack makes extensive use of the URL command to load image data and to copy and rename files.

As I said in the subject line the application works fine in the IDE but the standalone built for MacOS only partially works. No errors are posted but the features that fail are those that attempt to read data or copy files. So I wonder if this could be a problem with file permissions.

Any ideas on how to debug the problem would be welcomed.

The stack may be downloaded from this link https://www.dropbox.com/s/ecodbgamvuvyx ... e.zip?dl=0
Please note the code needs to be refactored and tidied - well thats my excuse!

Thanks for looking

S
best wishes
Skids

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9385
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Post by richmond62 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 1:43 pm

I am bad at debugging, but I think it might not
be a bad idea to check about your inclusions in your standalone build.
-
Screenshot 2020-08-24 at 15.41.10.png
Last edited by richmond62 on Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Simon Knight
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Gunthorpe, North Lincs, UK

Re: Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Post by Simon Knight » Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:05 pm

I think you may be correct I have just found the following :
It is important that you choose to include all the components that your application uses or it may fail. If you do not include your own custom error reporting or LiveCode’s standalone error reporting dialog (discussed below) such failure may be silent – i.e. an operation in your standalone will simply cease working without displaying anything to the user. |
which describes what is happening. Now all I need to do is work out what to include.

Thanks
S
best wishes
Skids

Simon Knight
Posts: 854
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Gunthorpe, North Lincs, UK

Re: Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Post by Simon Knight » Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:08 pm

Some fools never learn : Confused by "Libraries" and "inclusions"
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32571

Thanks for the steer, yes I needed to include the blur inclusion.

best wishes

S
best wishes
Skids

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9385
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Suggestions on debugging an application that runs in IDE but fails when built

Post by richmond62 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 2:14 pm

the blur inclusion
Well, some of that stuff is a bit blurred. 8)

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”