Standalone not working with script only stack

Anything beyond the basics in using the LiveCode language. Share your handlers, functions and magic here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:01 pm

Hi folks. I am trying to put together a minimal stack to try out this excellent suggestion by Jacqueline to encrypt Script only Stacks (SoS's) on the fly:

http://lists.runrev.com/pipermail/use-l ... 58018.html

But I am falling at the first hurdle, before encryption. Please see attached minimal stack, consisting of a stack "Testing encryption", with stack script:

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
   put specialFolderPath("resources") into tLibraryPath
   put tLibraryPath & "/" & "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" into tPath
   open stack tPath
   start using stack tPath
end preopenstack
and one button with script:

Code: Select all

on mouseup
   showtext
end mouseup
The script only stack has one handler:

Code: Select all

on showtext
   answer "Text coming from script-only stack"
end showtext
This works fine, showing that the SoS is being accessed. But when I create a standalone, the button does not work. I have added the SoS in the Copy files area of the Standalone Application settings.

Can someone tell me what elementary mistake I am making?

Kaveh
Attachments
testing_encryption.zip
(2.07 KiB) Downloaded 267 times
Kaveh

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Mon Feb 17, 2020 10:07 pm

Hello Kaveh,

What happens in your example is that you have "Search for Inclusions", but the call

Code: Select all

answer "Text coming from script-only stack"
in in the script-only stack that is included in the Copy Files. The standalone builder only checks the main stack for possible inclusions - not the stacks included in the Copy Files. Since the main stack has no call to the "answer" command, it does not add the "Answer Dialog" inclusion to the standalone.

You have to choose "Select Inclusions" and check the "Answer Dialog".

Hope this helps.

Kind regards,
Panos
--

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 10:30 pm

Thank you so much Panos. I think it was not that obvious and I don't feel too silly. I would not have thought of that. Yup, it works. :-)

Kaveh
Kaveh

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:55 pm

OK, I now have a working minimal stack, using a Script-only stack. I have modified the stack script, according to Jacqueline's recipe, namely

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
   put specialFolderPath("resources") into tLibraryPath
   put tLibraryPath & "/" & "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" into tPath
   open stack tPath
   start using stack tPath
end preopenstack

on standaloneSaved 
   set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to false
   set the mainstack of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to "Testing encryption"
   set the password of stack "Testing encryption" to "hi"
end standaloneSaved
The Standalone is created, but I can still see the unencrypted SoS in the Package Contents in the mac version. Any ideas please?

Kaveh
Attachments
encryption.zip
(2.14 KiB) Downloaded 292 times
Kaveh

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:02 am

Hello Kaveh,

You probably have to do these changes (i.e. the encryption) in the "savingStandalone" handler, and revert them in the "standaloneSaved" handler.

The "savingStandalone" message is sent just before the standalone creation begins, and the "standaloneSaved" is sent when the standalone is ready.

Kind regards,
Panos
--

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:29 am

Oops. Silly error. Let me try and report back. Thanks again Panos and great to see you on the forum. :-)
Kaveh

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Tue Feb 18, 2020 1:23 pm

OK, I had actually done this correctly before. Please see updated stack with

Code: Select all

standaloneSaved
changed to

Code: Select all

savingStandalone
but with the same result, namely SoS viewable unencrypted.
Attachments
encryption.zip
(2.18 KiB) Downloaded 283 times
Kaveh

hrcap
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:20 pm

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by hrcap » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:16 pm

Evening Kaveh

did you have any luck with encrypting the SOS's?


Many Thanks

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:26 pm

No. Thanks for asking. Really need a solution to this. Any help or hints appreciated.

Kaveh
Kaveh

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:25 pm

Hi all

I tried to run this stack again, in order to get an encrypted stack. I am uploading the latest version. The stack script of the main file is:

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
   put specialFolderPath("resources") into tLibraryPath
   put tLibraryPath & "/" & "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" into tPath
   open stack tPath
   start using stack tPath
end preopenstack

on savingStandalone 
   set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to false
   set the mainstack of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to "Testing encryption"
   set the password of stack "Testing encryption" to "hi"
   answer the password of stack "Testing encryption"
end savingStandalone
When I step through the savingStandalone handler, the script does not perform the first line, i.e.

Code: Select all

   set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to false
and jumps to the end statement. I cannot work out why. Any ideas please?

Kaveh
Attachments
Testing encryption.zip
(2.22 KiB) Downloaded 263 times
Kaveh

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by jacque » Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:35 pm

I just noticed that the dictionary entry for scriptonly has an example of how to password protect a scriptonly stack. I'd guess that that you wouldn't need to decrypt it when using it either.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

kaveh1000
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:23 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by kaveh1000 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 6:17 pm

Thanks. I tried that, i.e. without your suggestion of removing the standalone property, but still not encrypted...
Kaveh

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by jacque » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:22 pm

There's the old-fashioned way I suppose. When you're ready to build, encrypt the text file yourself with the "encrypt" command and save it to disk. Include it in the standalone. When you want to use it, decrypt it and save the file to the user's temporary folder using tempname to get the right file path. Open it from there and immediately delete the temporary file as soon as the stack is in memory.

The temp file will only be on disk for milliseconds, in an obscure location usually not ever seen by users.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

bogs
Posts: 5435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by bogs » Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:14 pm

Some times the old ways work best eh :D
Image

Bernard
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: London, England

Re: Standalone not working with script only stack

Post by Bernard » Thu Dec 03, 2020 12:50 pm

kaveh1000 wrote:
Fri Apr 10, 2020 6:25 pm
When I step through the savingStandalone handler, the script does not perform the first line, i.e.

Code: Select all

   set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to false
and jumps to the end statement. I cannot work out why. Any ideas please?

Kaveh
Isn't the problem here that the file extension should not be included as part of the stack name?

i.e.
set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack" to false
not
set the scriptonly of stack "ScriptOnlyStack.livecodescript" to false

Post Reply

Return to “Talking LiveCode”