Radio Button Help!

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

stuartls

Radio Button Help!

Post by stuartls » Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:30 pm

I am new to revolution, but willing to learn and I am making progress. I am developing test review software. Each test will have 200 questions. I don't have a problem getting the questions on the card and have buttons at the bottom to go to the next question, or previous question and so forth. My problem is each question has 4 answers. Only one of them is right of course. How do I record which radio button the student selected so I can test later on, at the end of the test if the student got that particular question on the card wrong? I need to set it up in such a way that if they choose one answer and select that radio button, then go back and change their answer then the container reflects the changed answer. The radio buttons are mutually exclusive of course. I've done that! Having a real problem with this. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

marielle
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Radio Button Help!

Post by marielle » Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:45 pm

stuartls wrote:I need to set it up in such a way that if they choose one answer and select that radio button, then go back and change their answer then the container reflects the changed answer. The radio buttons are mutually exclusive of course. I've done that! Having a real problem with this. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.
This behavior is given if you group all four radio buttons within a group. Then only one can be active at a time.

To get the active one in the group, type something like this:

Code: Select all

put the long id of group "answersOfQuestion24" into tGpRef
put -1 into tResult