discovering previous text size of text field

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
derek
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: New Mexico

discovering previous text size of text field

Post by derek » Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:54 pm

A naive question: How do I discover the previously-selected custom font size for a text field?

Suppose I set a field's text to a size of 60, for example (or any other value not listed in the text size selection window). Later, I've forgotten what size I chose. How do I find out? If I select the field, and choose Text>Size, all I see is "Other." If I select "Other," I can enter a new size, but I can't see the current size. Is there a way to verify the currently selected custom text size?

Derek
Derek Roff
Language Learning Center
University of New Mexico

Obleo
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by Obleo » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:07 pm

If you use the Inspector instead of the menu bar, and go to Text Formating while selecting that field it will list the text font size used in the combo box.
Last edited by Obleo on Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

derek
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: New Mexico

Post by derek » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:14 pm

Thank you. This is just what I was looking for.

Derek
Derek Roff
Language Learning Center
University of New Mexico

Obleo
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by Obleo » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:16 pm

Your welcome,

Just another option if looking to add it so an user could see the text size.

Also you could write a script such as

on mouseUp
put the textsize of fld "mytextfield" into fld "myresultfield"
end mouseUp

I had tested this quick using two fields one with the text one for the textsize result and with a button. It could be done with out a button or what ever works best.

obleo

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”