Will Set or Put work for this?

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
tm1274
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:20 pm

Will Set or Put work for this?

Post by tm1274 » Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:07 pm

I need to make a field show a value from another field within my project. Basically I have a combo box that the user will make a selection, the script will populate a field with a text/number value based upon that selection. I then need another field to show the same value. Can I do this with either the set or put commands? If at all possible I would rather not add another "set the text of field" script to the first combo box it is getting rather large.

DarScott
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:23 am
Location: Albuquerque
Contact:

Post by DarScott » Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:12 pm

You might want to consider setProp with a custom property name and set that instead of the text. The body of the setProp can set the text and also set the other field.

Another method is to use a single custom command in the combobox to distribute values and use that all the places you need.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”