Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
royF
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 10:48 pm

Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by royF » Sat Oct 15, 2022 5:20 pm

When I use the player and close to Windows. For a person who doesn't have "livecode" it doesn't work and shows a white screen! I checked which 5 users.
How can this be solved?

Code: Select all

on mouseDown 
   put specialFolderPath("engine")&"/myVideo.mp4"  into t_source
   set the filename of player "playerOpen" to t_source
   set the currentTime of player "playerOpen" to 0
   start player "playerOpen"
end mouseDown
Thanks!!

Cairoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:54 pm

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by Cairoo » Sat Oct 15, 2022 5:52 pm

Is your Windows standalone 64-bit or 32-bit?

I've found that on Windows, sometimes videos play in a 32-bit standalone but not in a 64-bit standalone and it seems to have something to do with the codecs.

Klaus
Posts: 13824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by Klaus » Sat Oct 15, 2022 6:00 pm

Hi royF,

if you have added the video(s) to yur Windows runtime via
-> Standalone Applicatiuon Settings -> Copy files...
then you will find them in -> specialfolderpath("resources")
So this should work:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp 
   put specialFolderPath("resources") &"/myVideo.mp4"  into t_source
   set the filename of player "playerOpen" to t_source
   set the currentTime of player "playerOpen" to 0
   start player "playerOpen"
end mouseUp
Best

Klaus

royF
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 10:48 pm

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by royF » Sat Oct 15, 2022 6:48 pm

I did... But it's doesn't work..

Klaus
Posts: 13824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by Klaus » Sat Oct 15, 2022 6:55 pm

Hnm sounds like a pathname issue.
What dou you get with this:

Code: Select all

...
put specialFolderPath("resources") &"/myVideo.mp4"  into t_source
answer (there is a file t_source)
## Should give you TRUE in the dialog
...
If you get FALSE then the video is not where you exspect it!?
if you have added the video(s) to yur Windows runtime via
-> Standalone Applicatiuon Settings -> Copy files...
then you will find them in -> specialfolderpath("resources")
The above definitively works, I'm using it all the time.


Best

Klaus

paul@researchware.com
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Randolph, MA USA
Contact:

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by paul@researchware.com » Sun Oct 16, 2022 2:06 pm

lIvecode on Microsoft Windows uses DirectShow (in LC 9.6.x) which has limited CODEC support (meaning there are a limited number of file media file formats and internal encoding of audio and video data that are supported under DirectShow). Livecode on macOS uses Apple Video FOundation (AVF) which comes with a much wider range of CODECs, so media files that play on macOS may not play under Windows. [NOTE: there are formats that are specific to each platform as well.]

We recommend/require our customers to also install the free LAV filters on WIndows (https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFilters/releases). This a free set of additional CODEC for DirectShow that mostly provide parity between formats supported under macOS and Windows.

With some release of Livecode 10.0.0, LC is switching from DirectShow on Windows to Windows Media Framework (WMF) which also has more of a parity between formats supported across platforms, at which point a 3rd party set of CODECs like the LAV Filters will no longer be needed.
Paul Dupuis
Researchware, Inc.

royF
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 10:48 pm

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by royF » Sun Oct 16, 2022 3:14 pm

Now everything is clear :D . My computer had LAV filters installed and theirs did not. Thanks!
Which format do you most recommend that will work on both Mac and Windows without the requirement to install LAV filters?

paul@researchware.com
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Randolph, MA USA
Contact:

Re: Player don't work for a person who doesn't have "livecode". Help?

Post by paul@researchware.com » Sun Oct 16, 2022 6:20 pm

We built a spreadsheet of the formats supported by AVF (changes from macOS version to version) and LAV Filters + Directshow and took the intersection of formats supported by both for what was openable in our application.

I just tried finding that speadsheet on my computer and no luck. Sorry. I can check around later in the week and see if it is archved somewhere.
Paul Dupuis
Researchware, Inc.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”