Slow Script Editor

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

TheOtherBob

Slow Script Editor

Post by TheOtherBob » Sat Apr 09, 2022 1:02 pm

I've worked with several different IDE's over the years, but I'm new to LiveCode. I'm running 9.6.6 on Windows 10.

I have a very small project (single stack, 3 cards, almost no code as yet) and I've noticed that the script editor can be very slow at times. I'll type as many as 10 to 20 characters before they appear in the script, and then they all appear at once. I've read other posts whose authors describe the same issue, and have followed the steps recommended to alleviate them, such as closing the Project Browser, and disabling Script Debug Mode, which have helped a bit, but the performance of the script editor is still very slow. Oh yeah, this occurs even while not in 'run mode'.

Is there anything else I could disable that might alleviate this?

Thanks!
~Bob (one of the many)

stam

Re: Slow Script Editor

Post by stam » Sat Apr 09, 2022 2:29 pm

Personally i prefer to use state-of-the-art code editors rather than the built-in editor.

As much as it is OK for many things it is just not as good as a dedicated code editor such as VSCode or Atom, both of which have plugins that provide code formatting, syntax colouring, linting etc, on top of the standard features like code-folding, dark mode and so on.