answer url does not work in Android liveCode

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Wed Mar 16, 2022 12:43 pm

answer url does not work in Android liveCode
What can I do?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Mar 16, 2022 5:42 pm

What does "answer url" do on other platforms?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

Klaus
Posts: 13824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by Klaus » Wed Mar 16, 2022 5:47 pm

Did you check "Internet" in the "Standalone Application Settings" for Android?

And since the automatism "Search for required inclusions when saving the standalone application"
does not work reliably, maybe you need to include the "Internet" library manually?

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7229
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by jacque » Wed Mar 16, 2022 6:46 pm

"answer url" doesn't make sense, what are you trying to do?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Klaus
Posts: 13824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by Klaus » Wed Mar 16, 2022 7:02 pm

Maybe he just forgot to add the actual url?

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Thu Mar 17, 2022 9:28 pm

This is the code I put:

Code: Select all

    answer url "https://tcrvo.ml/verisin.txt"
And this is the settings of Android in liveCode
And it still does not work

Note: If I run the command in liveCode it works but if I run the app and run on my phone it does not work
Attachments
ללא שם.png

SparkOut
Posts: 2852
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by SparkOut » Thu Mar 17, 2022 10:19 pm

Can you show the "inclusions" tab of the standalone settings as well please?

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Fri Mar 18, 2022 8:12 am

To shoot more?
Attachments
ללא שם.png
ללא שם.png
ללא שם.png

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Fri Mar 18, 2022 8:14 am

Is there anything I did not mark?
Attachments
ללא שם.png
ללא שם.png
ללא שם.png

AndyP
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by AndyP » Fri Mar 18, 2022 10:07 am

You probably need to include the HTTP Library as well :)
Andy Piddock
https://livecode1001.blogspot.com Built with LiveCode
https://github.com/AndyPiddock/TinyIDE Mini IDE alternative
https://github.com/AndyPiddock/Seth Editor color theming
http://livecodeshare.runrev.com/stack/897/ LiveCode-Multi-Search

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Fri Mar 18, 2022 10:20 am

Thanks,
I will update you on Sunday whether it worked or not

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Mar 18, 2022 10:49 am

HTTP is handled in the Internet library, which is checked. The httpd library is for running a localhost server for mobile testing.

I think what's missing us the SSL library, needed for HTTPS.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

liveCode
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 5:53 pm

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by liveCode » Fri Mar 18, 2022 11:40 am

I added the SSL directory and it still does not work
Attachments
ללא שם.png

stam
Posts: 2679
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by stam » Fri Mar 18, 2022 12:59 pm

Standard inclusions aren't the issue i don't think.
I created a standalone for desktop with a single button:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
    answer url "https://tcrvo.ml/verisin.txt"
end mouseUp
The only inclusions i ticked were 'Internet', in addition to the already ticked 'ask' and 'answer'.
This worked just fine - click the button launches a dialog with the text 1.0.0.

If this isn't working on mobile, it seems likely to be a mobile specific issue (i'm afraid i can't really help there though) - i'm guessing internet access has be allowed or some such, but i can see in your first screenshot that you've already ticked the 'Internet' tickbox. Not sure if anything else needs to be done...

Maybe someone else can try compiling for Android and see if its a general issue?
Hopefully some experienced Android dev can advise...

Klaus
Posts: 13824
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: answer url does not work in Android liveCode

Post by Klaus » Fri Mar 18, 2022 5:27 pm

Hi livecode,

lets try to narrow the problem, do this:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
    put url("https://tcrvo.ml/verisin.txt") into tVar
    if the result <> EMPTY then
       answer "Problem:" & CR & the result
    else
       answer tVar
   end if
end mouseUp
Then tell us what the dialog shows you.


Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”