widget Signature to SVG pathdata

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

istech

widget Signature to SVG pathdata

Post by istech » Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:10 pm

Hi All,

I want to copy path data from a signature widget to a SVG widget. Is this possible? The path data appear to be in a different format. Is there a different process to follow?

Thanks

stam

Re: widget Signature to SVG pathdata

Post by stam » Sun Jan 31, 2021 1:42 am

Hi istech,

I'm far from an expert in SVG but have had success by just copying the path data into the path in the inspector of an SVG widget. I open the SVG in a text editor and just copy the path data (without the surrounding quotes, usually starts with an 'M') into the path data of an SVG widget's inspector.

SVG is a mixed bag as far as i can tell. The following lesson explains how to apply the above in more complex SVGs
https://lessons.livecode.com/m/33498/l/ ... -extension

Hope that helps,
Stam

bobcole
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Post by bobcole » Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:00 pm

Copying the path from a Signature widget works but not very well. In fact, it doesn't look good at all.
I was curious about this so I created a sample stack with the best I could figure out.
Maybe someone else can figure out a better solution.
Bob
Signature to SVG.livecode.zip
(6.06 KiB) Downloaded 141 times

stam

Post by stam » Mon Feb 01, 2021 3:00 am

Yes I find it doesn't always work - and depends largely on the type of SVG.
I more recently found that lesson on using Illustrator to modify the SVG before copying the path. I don't have illustrator sadly (i use Affinity Designer for vectors, but sadly doesn't seem to have the same functionality, or i don't know how to use it ;)