Code Organization

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

JackieBlue1970

Code Organization

Post by JackieBlue1970 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:31 pm

Hi. I'm new to LiveCode but have coded off and on for years in VB (classic and .net), C, Python, and various scripting languages. However, I'm very confused on how you organize your code in LiveCode. Are there no modules or classes? Any way to separate code from user interface? I'd prefer to have my code in separate modules as it makes it easier to share code (such as database access) between projects. The examples I've found so far seem to put everything into a card. Cards appear to me to be just for interface. I know you could put code in the card but often the same code will need to be referenced from other cards. How is this resolved? TIA.

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Code Organization

Post by jmburnod » Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:59 pm

Hi,
I know you could put code in the card but often the same code will need to be referenced from other cards. How is this resolved?
You may put scripts on stack script too.
This link should be useful
http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4603/l/56 ... ssage-path
Best regards
Jean-Marc
Last edited by jmburnod on Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
https://alternatic.ch

bogs

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:11 pm

I think what JackieBlue1970 is looking for would be more akin to a library, or script only stack. Either would work for separating code from the objects in the working stack for re-usability.

You might also want to look into behaviors, although from my understanding of your question, the first two suggestions would be more likely (i.e., the most like modules).

FourthWorld