Page 1 of 1

FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:06 am
by GPJMA
Well here I am again... Each time that I move to a new PC I have the same problem in finding the android sdk or jdk path.
its not like I am new to Live Code I've been around for bit.
This is one of the things that tipped me away from buying another year of Live Code. Such a great platform and this has to be one of the biggest speed bumps to anyone getting started. I prefer to build for iOS but I don't have the full live code anymore so here I am....I have downloaded and installed the JRE,SDK,JDK so many times now and put it everywhere but cannot find the path.
Is there anyone out there that can put me out of my misery. Please :?

Many thanks

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:00 pm
by AndyP
For Windows, it normally uses : C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Android\sdk
(replace UserName as corresponds, AppData may also be a hidden folder)

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:26 pm
by jacque
Windows or Mac? What version of LC are you using? And what is the text of the error message?

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:07 pm
by Lagi Pittas
I have been compiling Android standalones for a good couple of years now with no problem. I installed what was needed via the GUI SDK Manger.

This time though the Google in their infinite stupidity have decided we need The Gorilla as well as the Banana so have us the SDK manager wrapped up inside Android Studio - anyway I digress...

I installed Aandroid Studio installed API 15 as LC expects and voila - I fell off my chair - it worked.

Compiled for a few days and thought I'd start using the Emulator - added the extras needed - emulator would not show up, did some googling and got that emulator buttons showing but on trying to load it gave an error - but also made the compiled android APKs fail silently.

By that I mean they compile , install and run but I have a totally blank screen.

I put "answer" commands in the preopen stack and the connect to DB routine - even they are blank - works fin on a windows tablet.

I removed and reinstalled everything TWICE - took hours still no joy.

I went back to version 6.7.11 - which has been working well for 2 years - same problem.

I thought maybe it was the stack - so I created a simple stavk with 2 buttons on it - Blank screen.

Im going to reinstall on a new machine because it seems deleting and installing on the same machine doesnt seem to work.

This is failing on 9 DP11 8.1.9 stable and 6.7.11

Does anybody have any hard one wisdom to share or even have a GUI SDK manager sans the Android studio they can put on Dropbox or send via wesend.com?

Thanks

Lagi

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:50 pm
by jacque
To go back to the "old" way without using Android Studio, go here:
https://developer.android.com/studio/index.html

Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page to where it says "Get just the command line tools". Download for your OS, delete Studio, and install the tools. I never downloaded Studio, only updated the command line tools, and building an apk works fine.

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:15 pm
by Lagi Pittas
Hi Jacque and fellow livecoders

I had already downloaded those and managed to get LC 9 and LC 6 to create APKs but then all of a sudden the APKs gave a Totally blank screen on my Android phone whether compiled on Version 9 or 6.7.11

After installing reinstalling , 3 different computers 2 virtual boxed , different APIs etc etc etc. I decided to try my Samsung Tablet and also my 10 inch and 8 inch tablets - ALL worked as expected.

I then found an APK compiled a year ago in 6 and that still compiles and runs. So I did a factory reset on the phone - NOTHING.

Now after 3 days of "playing " my main machine (it would be) fails to recognize the SDK on version 6 (the API is there), but with LC 9 and all is fine and it creates the standalone (still doesn't work on the phone)
So I added an older versions of JAVA - version 6 with version 8 - I'm not brave enough to add 9 (or should I) - still no Joy.

So I'm gonna start from scratch again - even though all these uninstallers fail to remove all traces - and try to get 6.7.11 working WITHOUT 9, then create a restore point and add 9 afterwards BUT the problem is still how do I Install reliably via the command line tools - the previous sdkmanger (not in the studio) had a basic gui which worked - I have googled to download it and cannot find it. The new command line tools are just that and have arcane flags and incantations.

Does anyone have the OLD command line tools with the GUI please _ will be forever grateful.

Or if anyone has a RECIPE of how to do this that does not fail if the wind is blowing North on a Tuesday or Wednesday.

Kindest Regards Lagi

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:12 pm
by jacque
I have an old (2011) version of the SDK but it's for Mac. It's bare-bones and requires downloading all the relevant files, and I'm not sure they are still available. But I do have it if you're on a Mac.

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:21 pm
by Lagi Pittas
Hi

If the 2011 version works for. 6.7 that would be fine I do have a Mac so maybe I’ll use that as the 6.7 Android compiler.

Would very much appreciate the old tools .. still open to the old tools for windows as well though

Thanks Jacque

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:57 pm
by jacque
I sent you a PM, Lagi. I'm not sure the file is worth anything but you can try it.

Re: FINDING THE ANDROID SDK

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:19 am
by Lagi Pittas
Thanks - I somehow got it working on my windows laptop by not installing the latest version and a factory reset on the phone - when I have time (yeah right!!) i'll have to document a recipe ...

I Think if we had an archive of older SDK's for such a reason it would be good. In fact I think the mother ship should have an are on the downloads with specific working versions of android/ios etc from here on at least and a few older versions that they (we) might have - it would certainly save many man (woman) hours.

Thanks again.

Regards Lagi