Inspector palette issue question.

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Obleo
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Inspector palette issue question.

Post by Obleo » Thu May 18, 2006 4:01 am

version and OS, runrev studio 2.7.1 mac OS X 10.4.6

When I click the inspector button in the top tool bar 50% of the time it palettes itself to the Menu-bar, so I can not close it or access anything on the left hand side of the desktop. The only way I can figure out to close it and try to get it from doing this is force quit out of revolution. Re start re launch all the plug ins ect. and start over again. After a few times each day this becomes super frustrating, to say the least.

Is there any way of stopping this? or to close it without force quitting? or is this a bug that needs to be fixed?

Any help is appreciated. Thank You.

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5147
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Thu May 18, 2006 10:38 pm

I can very well understand your frustrations. This kind of bugs should simply not exist and they are not necessary. For RunRev, it will be easy to add a script to make sure that the property inspector opens in a convenient place.

Having that said, I'll give you a line you could type in the message box:

close stack "revPropertyPalette 1"

Note that you may have to change the number 1 into the number of the property inspector that bothers you. You could also write a script to close them all:

on closePropInsp
put the openStacks into myList
filter myList with "revPropertyPalette*"
repeat for each line myLine in myList
close stack myLine
end repeat
end closePropInsp

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Obleo
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by Obleo » Fri May 19, 2006 1:43 am

Thanks Mark,

I did not realize that you could actually control revolution itself with scripts. That very good to know, there many things that I would like to do then. lol.

Thanks again for the info, this helps so much. :D

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5147
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by Mark » Fri May 19, 2006 8:50 am

Hi Obleo,

The Revolution IDE is a set of stacks and scripts. Everything is changeable, theoretically, although a small portion of the scripts is password protected. This makes it easy to remove bugs from the IDE yourself or to add features to it. You may also want to considere making your own plugin, if you are not using Media. Plugins are easier to include in the next update than changes in the IDE. Such a plugin could contain the script I posted earlier in this thread, for instance.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”