Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

LiveCode is the premier environment for creating multi-platform solutions for all major operating systems - Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, the Web, Server environments and Mobile platforms. Brand new to LiveCode? Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Xero
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:22 pm

Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by Xero » Tue Jan 25, 2022 6:05 am

So... I have seen this question asked a little while ago, but not in this context.
If I made an app with something else (Unity, etc.) and made a separate "app" for want of a better term, can I access it from within an app I have made with Livecode.
If I were doing it within Livecode, I would just make 2 stacks, and link them together as substacks, accessing one with an "open stack" command.
Is there any way of opening another standalone stack in that way that would open seamlessly and be able to go back to the original stack?
There has been a suggestion that an app be made and run through html5 on a webpage, and that webpage being played in a browser widget, which may be viable.
I am developing an AR app through Unity which does allow for publishing on their server, so it's a possibility if I have a card with a browser widget that is full-screen, but the webpage would also need to be formatted to be full screen, or you will see all of the other stuff too. Would be better if I could just call up an app to run parallel or within a livecode-generated app.
Else, I just use Unity for go-to-woe app development, meaning I will need to learn it from scratch (which I am doing BTW, it's got some pretty cool AR through Vuforia and 3D capabilities.)
Thanks,
XdM

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8319
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by dunbarx » Tue Jan 25, 2022 2:58 pm

I think you may be talking about the "open process" command. Read about it in the dictionary.

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6536
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by jacque » Tue Jan 25, 2022 7:27 pm

The launch command opens apps.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8319
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by dunbarx » Tue Jan 25, 2022 7:38 pm

Jacque.

"Launch". That seems simpler and better. But what is the difference?

Craig

Xero
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:22 pm

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by Xero » Wed Jan 26, 2022 12:15 am

Thanks guys. I will look them up
XdM

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6536
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by jacque » Wed Jan 26, 2022 12:32 am

dunbarx wrote:
Tue Jan 25, 2022 7:38 pm
"Launch". That seems simpler and better. But what is the difference?
As I understand it, which I don't entirely, open process usually is for background processes that are not visible by the user (shell commands, maybe.) The docs say it will also open apps. Launch is just for apps and includes an optional parameter that will open a specific document with the specified app.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9083
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Jan 26, 2022 12:36 am

If the Unity part of this is server-side rendered in a browser, couldn't you just display that within your LiveCode app in a Browser widget?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

Xero
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:22 pm

Re: Accessing other apps in livecode-made app

Post by Xero » Wed Jan 26, 2022 4:56 am

FourthWorld wrote:
Wed Jan 26, 2022 12:36 am
If the Unity part of this is server-side rendered in a browser, couldn't you just display that within your LiveCode app in a Browser widget?
That's what I am considering. It has a WebGL component that may be able to be be displayed in a browser element. Apparently that's how you do it with a webpage.
XdM

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Experienced Developers”