lcVCS problem

A place to discuss Version Control in LiveCode

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

seyabrill

lcVCS problem

Post by seyabrill » Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:37 am

Hi,

I have a Project composes of Master stack and 73 substacks. I used lcVCS plugin to convert the Master stack to .vcs and created a repository so that my team can collaborate the changes in the project. It took some time to finish the whole process. Can anyone give advice to make this easy and not time consuming? Any advice that I can use the lcVCS effectively?

I made small changes like a comment on the card script of one of my substack. Saved the Master stack then use lcVCS to convert it back .vcs. Before committing it to my repo, I check the differences. It seems to me that there are lot of changes going on aside from the comment I created. Is there a way to locate the change that I made so that I can only commit that part?

One of my team convert back the .vcs folder to .livecode. He found out that some of the Data inside the stack was not complete. Some were gone, like data inside an array. Anyone have any idea why this happened? How can we avoid this to happen again?

By the way we are using lcVCS-1.0.0rc1, mergJSON-GPL-1.0.23. We also use tortoiseSVN.

Hoping for your positive replies. :)

Martin Koob
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: lcVCS problem

Post by Martin Koob » Fri Apr 29, 2016 6:50 pm

Hi

There are ways to get a handle on false diffs. One of the reason these are created is if the properties of objects change whether intentionally or unintentionally. This could be as simple changing as height or width or location. You can eliminate these by putting an lcVCSExport handler in each of the controls where you notice false diffs and in that handler you set a default value for each property that can change during the operation of your stack.