Video capturing with MergAV in OS X

This is the place to get technical support and discuss all things to do with MergEXT

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, robinmiller, monte

peachboy

Video capturing with MergAV in OS X

Post by peachboy » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:04 pm

Hello.

I'm a bit new to Livecode, but I seem to be managing pretty well so far.

I've hit a bit of a block in the road when it comes to video capturing however. It seems that the MergAV functions don't seem to work for OS X. I'm using the latest Mac OS X Sierra.

What I'm trying to do is record video straight from my webcam, but at the moment I can't even get it to preview. All that appears is just a white rectangle. I've tried multiple example codes, and many different ways around and none seem to work. I've also tried rewinding back to LiveCode 6 (as opposed to LiveCode 8) but I still get the same problem.

Has anyone had any luck getting MergAV to work for video capturing in OS X?

Thanks!

Martin Koob
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Video capturing with MergAV in OS X

Post by Martin Koob » Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:38 pm

Hi

Yes mergAV capturing works great for me on Mac OS X up to Yosemite on my Macs and Sierra on a customers Mac. Are you using an external webcam or the internal one?

How are you initializing the capture? Can you give an example of some of the code you have used?

Martin

peachboy

Post by peachboy » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:17 pm

Hi Martin,

Thanks for the reply.

I've tried various bits of code, but the last one is actually one of your example MergAV demos (attached here). None of them work for me.

In all instances I can't get the webcam to activate or preview, and nor can I record. The preview rectangle remains blank, and no output.mov file is generated to the assigned folder.

I'm using the internal webcam on the MacBook.
Attachments
mergAVCam%20demo.livecode.zip
(1.74 KiB) Downloaded 377 times

Martin Koob

Post by Martin Koob » Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:40 pm

Hi