Transfering a Decktop App to an iPad App

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

edblackhurst
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Transfering a Decktop App to an iPad App

Post by edblackhurst » Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:49 pm

Hello, All.

I'm looking forward to interacting with you during our 2013 Summer School. I'll be having a number of questions, but first, a bit of background:

I'm a retired special education professor who spent six years back in the 1990s developing a very complex expert system program using HyperCard. The Single Subject Research Advisor, or SSRA, as it is called, provides a research design consultation that presents a series of Queries about a user's prospective research project. Based upon the answers the user provides, the SSRA recommends 1 of 14 different research designs. Additional information can be obtained about how to implement the design, another component can be used to troubleshoot any problems that are encountered during the research study. An updatable citation database of more than 1,800 references to publications also accompanies the program. PDF forms for collecting and analyzing research data also can be downloaded from the program, as well as sample graphs that illustrate ways to display data collected during the research study. A team of us validated it's content and field tested it at 15 colleges and universities across the US with very satisfactory results. Although it was favorably reviewed by potential publishers, they weren't interested in publishing it because it only ran on Macs.