Excel Style Sheet within RR Project

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Mr.Bill

Excel Style Sheet within RR Project

Post by Mr.Bill » Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:01 am

Hello RR forum. I'm a total newbie to both RR and programing in general (but very excited about what I see in RR). But I have some strong knowledge of using excel and its VB capabilities. This leads me to my general question:

- Is it possible to create a RR project that can look and behave like an excel sheet? Mainly, when someone enters something in a cell, the entire sheet updates.

I looked at examples such as calculator, but they all seem to have only 1 field that updates. As many of us know from using excel, you want to input in 1 place and all the cells in the sheet (or book) update. Is this doable within RR or am I WAY over my head? :)

Thanks in advance for the tips, tricks, advice, and help.

Best,
- Mr. Bill :o

chriswood

Re: Excel Style Sheet within RR Project

Post by chriswood » Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:34 am

I came across an excel type control a few days ago: http://www.runrevplanet.com/

Best Regards

Chris

Mr.Bill

Post by Mr.Bill » Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:49 am

Thanks for the resource Chris. This looks powerful.

While I get ramped up...

Is it possible to have a RR project perform all field calculations when any field contents are changed or when a button is pressed. Preferable when any field is updated.

Thanks!

chriswood

Post by chriswood » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:58 pm

I suppose you could update items by loop through a list of fields or items in a table field. The attached file may give you a brief idea though I guess somebody with more RR experience than me could come up with better code or idea.