Why is LiveCode not recognized more as an app developer language?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

DR White

Why is LiveCode not recognized more as an app developer language?

Post by DR White » Mon Jul 19, 2021 11:31 am

Top 25 Programming Languages for Mobile Application Development:
Python
Swift
JavaScript
Rust
Scala
Ruby
GoLang/Go
Java
R
C++
PHP
SQL
C#
Objective-C
Kotlin
HTML5
jQuery
Lua
Corona
ObjectPascal
Perl
QML
Scheme
ActionScript
Scratch

I have been using LiveCode for more than 5 years and I have 9 mobile app published on both Apple and Android platforms. I am a novice programmer, but with LiveCode I was able to create some high quality app. There is NO OTHER APP LANGUAGE that can develop a quality app with such a small amount of programming. Two of my apps have over 50,000 downloads (my apps are free) and approaching 100,000. I could not have accomplished this feat without liveCode and this forum and God. LiveCode is a truly AWESOME programming language. Then when you add the UNBELIEVABLE support group of this forum, nothing else comes close.

Several of the names in the list of "Top 25 Programming Languages for Mobile Application Development" are a joke.

Why has LiveCode not made a more reparable name for their self?
Last edited by DR White on Mon Jul 26, 2021 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Why is LiveCode not recognized more as an app developer language?

Post by jmburnod » Mon Jul 19, 2021 12:13 pm

Hi,
For me Livecode is the best langage for newbies programmers and for what I need to create (app for classroom with text to speech and good accessibility).
I don't know why LiveCode is not among first ten.