Creating a database for mobile journal? - Solved

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

DR White

Creating a database for mobile journal? - Solved

Post by DR White » Wed May 26, 2021 6:34 pm

I have never written a database type app before. I want to write a simple mobile journal.
Each entry consist of 9 elements - DataEntry[tDate,tEvent,tSubEvent,tLocation,tSubLocation,tActionTaken,tComment,tExtra1,tExtra2].

How do I make a database "Record" that will be stored in a file on a phone?

Would anybody be interested to point me in the best direction so that the user can search the data entries based on any of the 9 elements.

I was thinking that there was some kind of special encoding used to save arrays?

What is the best way to search for a data entry based on matches of the 9 array elements?

Thanks,

David
Last edited by DR White on Thu May 27, 2021 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DR White

Re: Creating a database for mobile journal?

Post by DR White » Thu May 27, 2021 12:40 pm

I believe that a data grid will work for my application.

simon.schvartzman

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu May 27, 2021 1:13 pm

DR White, have you seen the lesson below regarding working with DBs?

Should be a good starting point

https://lessons.livecode.com/m/4069/l/5 ... e-database
Simon

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Post by dunbarx » Thu May 27, 2021 1:41 pm

Hi.

Not that there is any reason not to use an array, but is there any compelling reason to?

Searching a dataSet, whether an array or simple delimited data, is straightforward. My real question is this, are you concerned with the mechanics of an actual database, or really just talking about searching through data?

Craig

DR White

Post by DR White » Thu May 27, 2021 2:24 pm

Craig,