Modal dialog that can't be dismissed?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

PlaidFlannel

Modal dialog that can't be dismissed?

Post by PlaidFlannel » Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:22 am

During development work, at significant milestones, I close my stack, duplicate the stack file, rename it with an incremented version number, and then open that new stack. However, as a LiveCode beginner, I'm apparently omitting a step, because this process results in a dialog like this:
Dialog.png
The problem is that none of the buttons in this modal dialog do anything. My only recourse is to use the MacOS "Force Quit..." menu item to completely abort LiveCode.

Is this a known problem? Is there a workaround?

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Modal dialog that can't be dismissed?

Post by richmond62 » Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:06 am

Well, what I do know is that if you rename a stack "STAK1" to "STAK2" unless you do
a 'save as' all that effectively does is change the name of "STAK1" to "STAK2", but will
save what you have named "STAK2" into the file "STAK1".
I close my stack, duplicate the stack file, rename it with an incremented version number
That is not going to do you any favours at all.

Mainly because you are duplicating your stack file using the operating system, so preserving its internal name ["STAK1"].

Try this:

1. With your original stack open [I shall call it "STAK1"] rename the thing "STAK2".

2. Perform a save as, and that should save your stack with the name "STAK2".

stam

Post by stam » Tue Mar 02, 2021 10:18 am

PlaidFlannel wrote:
Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:22 am
The problem is that none of the buttons in this modal dialog do anything. My only recourse is to use the MacOS "Force Quit..." menu item to completely abort LiveCode.
Have you upgraded to Big Sur?