See both variables and code in the debugger?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

AndyP
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by AndyP » Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:00 pm

MichaelBluejay wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:55 am
I'm not keen on reinstalling Variable Monitor because loading it is when the problems started and I've spent far too much time already battling LC.
I think this is a red herring, all Variable monitor does is copies the array data that is feed into the variables tab and then re displays it.

I left Variable Monitor running overnight with a large script open in the Script Editor, so it was running for well over 9 hours and on looking at it this morning it was still behaving nicely. I see no unusual Script Editor problems or more slow downs than I would usually expect.

I don't think you've mentioned what OS and OS version your running. All my tests have been done on Win10 with Indy LC 9.6.1
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - Mini LC IDE alternative

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ - Script Editor colour theming

http://livecodeshare.runrev.com/stack/897/LiveCode-Multi-Search - Search across 8 LC resources

MichaelBluejay
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:50 am

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by MichaelBluejay » Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:34 pm

I've mentioned 3 times that I'm running MacOS. Specifically, it's 10.13.6, not that it should matter.

It may be that Variable Monitor didn't cause my problems, but given all the downtime I had trying to get that and LC working, I'm not going to risk trying it again until I really need it.

AndyP
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by AndyP » Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:55 pm

MichaelBluejay wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:34 pm
I've mentioned 3 times that I'm running MacOS. Specifically, it's 10.13.6, not that it should matter.

It may be that Variable Monitor didn't cause my problems, but given all the downtime I had trying to get that and LC working, I'm not going to risk trying it again until I really need it.
Ok, sorry missed the OS info, hope you manage to get all up and running ok again.
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - Mini LC IDE alternative

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ - Script Editor colour theming

http://livecodeshare.runrev.com/stack/897/LiveCode-Multi-Search - Search across 8 LC resources

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7441
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by dunbarx » Mon Jan 11, 2021 5:15 pm

Michael.
I've mentioned 3 times that I'm running MacOS
We are all merely volunteers here. I certainly miss points made in a long thread, unless I am following it closely, and still do even then. We are, however, trying to help and advise. Be patient with us.

Craig

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3211
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by mwieder » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:09 pm

Capitalized variables don't get sorted into proper alphabetical order with the non-capitalized variables in the Variables list, and there's no way to change it.
Depending on how you view things, this is either a feature of the treeview widget or something worthy of a bug report.
The treeview sorts its entries numerically by parsing strings as numbers, and in that case lowercase characters have a lower ASCII numerical value than lowercase characters, so they'll show up above the lowercase strings. So the entries are in the "proper" order, but it depends on how you're defining "proper".

And no, there's nothing you can do about that other than creating your own treeview widget and "fixing" the CompareKeysNumeric handler.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5861
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by jacque » Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:19 pm

For the slowdown, turn off all the editing options in the edit menu of the script editor, i.e. live variables, matching brackets, etc. Those are often cause for slowdowns. If that improves things you can selectively turn back on only the features you need.

I'm on Mac OS and have only bracket completion turned on. Response is very acceptable. You do need to use a more recent version of LC, and like others, I can't recall which that is. It's a long thread.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

MichaelBluejay
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:50 am

Re: See both variables and code in the debugger?

Post by MichaelBluejay » Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:24 pm

Thank you all very much for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”