Case of the Missing Message Box

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by RossG » Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:51 pm

For some reason the Message Box disappeared in LC 7.0.1
so I followed the advice given in another topic and put

set the rect of stack "message box" to the screenrect

in the mouseUp code for a button on the open stack.
This made the box appear but it filled the screen and
wasn't re-sizeable so I moved it out of the way and
changed the code to

set the rect of stack "message box" to 20,20,45,200

(Numbers copied from the Dictionary.)

It was an odd size and when I tried to drag the border
it re-sized itself to the usual dimensions. It now seems
to be its old self, coming and going on demand.

Thought this might be useful if, as suggested, it's a bug
or for anyone else who has the same problem.
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:19 pm

Helpful indeed, but even better if it didn't do that. Ideally the IDE should check to see if any window is manages is within the bounds of the current monitor, and adjust it if not. If this is repeatable in v8.0, have you filed a bug report on that?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by jacque » Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:51 pm

For future readers, if that happens again, it's easier to set the location of the message box rather than its size.

Code: Select all

set the loc of stack "message box" to the screenloc 
It will appear at the center of the screen and you can just drag it where you want it.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by RossG » Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:33 pm

This "bug" was reported, I believe, in a post headed

"Problems with message box and script editor screens"

If I was clever I could give you a link. Is age and excuse?
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:41 pm

I found that thread, but didn't see a bug report submitted. If you can spare a moment it would help others avoid this if you could submit a report:
http://quality.livecode.com/
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by RossG » Sun Apr 18, 2021 2:10 am

Five years later...

Got the message box back and its size is OK
when set for single line but when I select the
multiple line option the size increases to what
I would call inconvenient.

Any offers for a fix?
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

stam
Posts: 2679
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by stam » Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:33 pm

RossG wrote:
Sun Apr 18, 2021 2:10 am
Any offers for a fix?
Hi Ross,

Maybe try and delete the liveCode preferences file?
I did this to correct bizarre behaviour in the script editor and it worked a treat.

Try to trash your LC prefs, use the message box to locate the file:

Code: Select all

put the filename of stack "revpreferences"
Quit LC and move the file to the trash. It should be re-created when restarting LC (You will obviously have to re-enter any changes to LC preferences you've entered). Hopefully, this will work for your message box problem...

If that don't work then maybe re-download LC from https://downloads.livecode.com/livecode/

Hope this helps,
Stam

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by jacque » Sun Apr 18, 2021 9:24 pm

RossG wrote:
Sun Apr 18, 2021 2:10 am
Got the message box back and its size is OK
when set for single line but when I select the
multiple line option the size increases to what
It should be resizeable from the edges or lower right corner, and you can adjust the divider line between the top and bottom sections. Doesn't it stick that way from then on?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by RossG » Mon Apr 19, 2021 12:20 am

I couldn't change the message box size when
multiple lines mode was selected.

In single-line mode I typed "put height of me" and
got 330. For multiple lines the answer was 649.

So in multiple line mode I typed "set height of me to 330"
which fixed the problem.

Does this mean that the message box has two parameters
for height? (LC 7.1.4)
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Case of the Missing Message Box

Post by jacque » Mon Apr 19, 2021 12:39 am

The message box should be resizeable in any mode. If it isn't, try a newer LC version. LC 7 is very old and somewhat buggy. I remember having some other issues with the message box in that version.

It does keep two height preferences, one for single line and another for multiline. It may also store heights for the other modes but I never paid attention.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”