Using Message box collating the data received.

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Ausgirl
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:01 am

Using Message box collating the data received.

Post by Ausgirl » Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:08 am

Hi can someone help me? I'm writing a simple app for my students and am using the message box to ask them a series of questions but am having trouble collating the information into a text box.

Is there a trick to it?

Klaus
Posts: 13864
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Using Message box collating the data received.

Post by Klaus » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:33 pm

Hi Ausgirl,

1. welcome to the forum! :D

2. Not sure I get this:
Now do you want to put some text into the MESSAGE box or "into a text box"?

If you leave out the target for your text, the text will be put into the message box:
-> put "this is a string in the message box..."

If you define a target, the text will be put there:
-> put "this is another string in a text box" into fld "my message"


Best

Klaus

P.S.
Since this is not a specific Mac problem (Hint, hint!) i will move this thread to the begonners section.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9731
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Using Message box collating the data received.

Post by dunbarx » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:25 pm

I would not use the message box at all. Use a button or a series of buttons. You will find the process cleaner and easier to manage.

The message box is generally useful for temporary input and output, testing, asking questions of the IDE, that sort of thing. I would never include it as a working component of an app.

Craig Newman

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Using Message box collating the data received.

Post by Simon » Fri Mar 20, 2015 9:19 pm

I believe the OP is actually talking about the "ask" command.
@Ausgirl the "message box" is a specific tool in the IDE only, not available in a standalone.

Code: Select all

ask "What is your name?"
if it is not "Cancel" then
put it & cr after fld 1
end if
ask "What is your age?"
if it is not "Cancel" then
put it & cr after fld 1
end if
Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”