Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:59 pm

Hi everyone,

I accidentally deleted my original post I apologize. I re-made this one instead.

I have abandoned setting it up on Windows Server 2012 R2. Instead I went back to Windows 7.

I setup Apache and configured it per the instructions located at the following location: http://lessons.runrev.com/m/4070/l/3665 ... ith-apache

I am now getting this error when I look in the error logs for Apache.

Code: Select all

[Thu Feb 19 14:53:46 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] livecode-server exited due to fatal signal 11\r
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:46 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/Program Files (x86)/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/htdocs/favicon.ico
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:53 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] Premature end of script headers: livecode-server.exe
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:53 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] livecode-server exited due to fatal signal 11\r
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:54 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] Premature end of script headers: livecode-server.exe
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:54 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] livecode-server exited due to fatal signal 11\r
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:55 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] Premature end of script headers: livecode-server.exe
[Thu Feb 19 14:53:55 2015] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] livecode-server exited due to fatal signal 11\r
Anyone got any ideas?

Here is my configuration in the httpd document:

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Program Files (x86)/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/htdocs">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    AddHandler livecode-script .lc
    Action livecode-script /livecode-cgi/livecode-server.exe
</Directory>

<Directory "C:\Program Files (x86)\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\livecode-cgi">
    Options ExecCGI
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

ScriptAlias /livecode-cgi/livecode-server.exe "C:\Program Files (x86)\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\livecode-cgi\livecode-server.exe"


I found another post similar to what my issue is at this location: http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=8596

Except I am just trying to run a simple "Hello World" script and nothing more...his issue is regarding stacks it's the only difference.

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by Peter Wood » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:26 am

Your Script Alias entry in the Apache configuration file may not be correct. I think the parameters should be directories not files. Try this instead:

Code: Select all

ScriptAlias /livecode-cgi/ "C:\Program Files (x86)\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\livecode-cgi\"
If that doesn't work perhaps you could post your script.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:35 pm

Here is my current version of the code. Forgive my later reply I have been rather busy with some real life stuff.

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/htdocs">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    AddHandler livecode-script .lc
    Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
</Directory>

<Directory "C:\Users\DEV\Apache\cgi-bin">
    Options ExecCGI
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:\Users\DEV\Apache\cgi-bin"
When I try to run http://localhost/test.lc

It gives me the 403 Forbidden access error page. I checked and the account has full access to all directories. I am assuming this is the account running the Apache service?
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe/test.lc on this server.

I also changed the Script Alias portion based on your recommendation.

Thank you.

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by Peter Wood » Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:30 am

A couple of points about your configuration file:

1. I'm not sure that the AddHandler directive can be included within <Directory> tags. Try putting it just before your ScriptAlias directive.

2. You have used / for the htdocs directory and \ for the cgi-bin directory

3. "cgi-bin" in your Script Alias probably needs to be terminated with a \

4. What are you setting the document root to?

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:03 pm

Hello,

1. I'm not sure that the AddHandler directive can be included within <Directory> tags. Try putting it just before your ScriptAlias directive.

A: I updated the script and put the handler per your recommendation

2. You have used / for the htdocs directory and \ for the cgi-bin directory

A: I updated the slashes to be correct now.

Quick note:

Code: Select all

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:\Users\DEV\Apache\cgi-bin\"
To

Code: Select all

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/cgi-bin/"
Result: I get the server error again same as before.

3. "cgi-bin" in your Script Alias probably needs to be terminated with a \

A: I added this. Thank you.

4. What are you setting the document root to?

Document Root is set to the following per default I have not changed it:

Code: Select all

DocumentRoot "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/htdocs"
Revised Script:

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/htdocs">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/cgi-bin">
    Options ExecCGI
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

AddHandler livecode-script .lc
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:\Users\DEV\Apache\cgi-bin\"
I am now getting this error in response to all the changes:
Not Found

The requested URL /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe/test.lc was not found on this server.
I don't get how it's thinking that the URL is derived from this location??

Whatever I replace "Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe" with it makes no difference.

Thanks for all your help.

Thank you.

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by Peter Wood » Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:02 am

From the error message it looks as though the problem is that the Action directive is inside the <Directory> tag. I has assumed you would move it when you moved the AddHander directive. Sorry. Try moving the Action directive after the AddHandler.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:03 pm

Hello,

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/htdocs">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/Apache/cgi-bin">
    Options ExecCGI
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>

AddHandler livecode-script .lc
Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe <----- This is what you were referring to correct?
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:\Users\DEV\Apache\cgi-bin\"
Still no change I am trying to sort it out on my end but it's still the same error as before.

Mhmmm I am starting to think the issue is something very small that I have over looked.

Thanks for all the help.

Thank you.

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by Peter Wood » Tue Mar 03, 2015 3:20 am

I suspect the root of the problem may be that the LiveCode lesson was written some time ago and most likely were for Apache 2.2. I'm guessing that the current WAMP installation is of Apache 2.4

First thing to check is whether the three Apache modules needed to use LiveCode pages are enabled. They are mod_cgi, mod_actions and mod_alias. The entries in the http.conf file should not be commented out and should look like this, though they will probably end in .dll rather than .so:

Code: Select all

LoadModule cgi_module libexec/apache2/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule actions_module libexec/apache2/mod_actions.so
LoadModule alias_module libexec/apache2/mod_alias.so
Also I believe that it may be necessary to use + before Options ExecCGI, I have the directory containing LiveCodeServer specified like this:

Code: Select all

<Directory "/Users/username/Sites/LiveCodeServer">
    AllowOverride None
    Options +ExecCGI
    Require all granted
</Directory> 
Give those a try and let me know how you get on.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:00 pm

Good afternoon,

I am using 2.2 of Apache and not 2.4. :(

Should I upgrade ? Would that make a difference at this point?

Have a great day / evening.

Thank you.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:40 pm

Hello,

I had previously only had Apache 2.2 installed so I got rid of it and installed WAMP. It comes with Apache 2.4.9 currently.

Here is my new conf file.

Code: Select all

DocumentRoot "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/www/"

#
# Each directory to which Apache has access can be configured with respect
# to which services and features are allowed and/or disabled in that
# directory (and its subdirectories). 
#
# First, we configure the "default" to be a very restrictive set of 
# features.  
#
<Directory />
    AllowOverride none
    Require all denied
</Directory>

#
# Note that from this point forward you must specifically allow
# particular features to be enabled - so if something's not working as
# you might expect, make sure that you have specifically enabled it
# below.
#

<Directory /Users/DEV/wamp/www/>
  Require all granted
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/www/">
	Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    
    Require all granted
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/">
    AllowOverride None
    Options +ExecCGI
    Require all granted
</Directory>

AddHandler livecode-script .lc
Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/"
I get this error:
[Wed Mar 04 14:35:43.405915 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 2004:tid 852] [client 127.0.0.1:49301] script not found or unable to stat: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
I do not understand why it's thinking that the files are all located there when the files are in the "WWW" directory.
AddHandler livecode-script .lc
Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/"
This seems to be the culprit I believe. No where else is this being referenced except at the very end. I also know I have to <Directory> permission settings for the same location. I do not understand why it's pointing there for the script location when I type into my browser http://localhost/test.lc

Have a great day / evening.

Thanks for all the help.

Thank you.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:57 pm

Hello,

I've made progress but it's just one error after another lol. :shock:

Code: Select all

[Wed Mar 04 14:49:52.982508 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49331] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:52.982508 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49331] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:53.788555 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49332] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:53.788555 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49332] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.071571 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49333] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.071571 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49333] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.214579 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49334] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.214579 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49334] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.378588 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49335] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.379588 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49335] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.547598 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49336] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.547598 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49336] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.734609 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49337] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.734609 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49337] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.895618 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49338] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:54.895618 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49338] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.046627 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49339] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.046627 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49339] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.235637 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49340] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.235637 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49340] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.409647 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49341] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.409647 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49341] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.585657 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49342] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.585657 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49342] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.716665 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49343] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.716665 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49343] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.853673 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] [client 127.0.0.1:49344] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:55.853673 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (9)Bad file descriptor: [client 127.0.0.1:49344] AH01222: don't know how to spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:55.926109 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49346] couldn't create child process: 720193: test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:55.926109 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49346] AH01223: couldn't spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.439138 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49347] couldn't create child process: 720193: test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.439138 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49347] AH01223: couldn't spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.624149 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49348] couldn't create child process: 720193: test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.624149 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49348] AH01223: couldn't spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.780158 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49349] couldn't create child process: 720193: test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.780158 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 840] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49349] AH01223: couldn't spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.943167 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49350] couldn't create child process: 720193: test.lc
[Wed Mar 04 14:50:56.943167 2015] [cgi:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] (OS 193)%1 is not a valid Win32 application.  : [client 127.0.0.1:49350] AH01223: couldn't spawn child process: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc
I've resolved this error:
[Wed Mar 04 14:49:52.982508 2015] [win32:error] [pid 4004:tid 844] [client 127.0.0.1:49331] AH02102: C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/test.lc is not executable; ensure interpreted scripts have "#!" or "'!" first line
I just went into the file and added the tag it needed? I don't even think this is correct, but none the less. Now I get all the other errors regarding "creating child processes". I did some Googling and this seems to be related to PERL?

At least it's looking in a directory...not the "WWW" one but it seems to be finding "TEST.lc" file in the cgi-bin directory.

Thank you.

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:05 pm

Hello,

I also just noticed this as well:

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/www/">
	Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Require all granted

</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/">
	AllowOverride None
    Options +ExecCGI
    Require all granted
</Directory>

AddHandler livecode-script .lc
Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/"
will produce this error:
Not Found

The requested URL /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe/cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe/test.lc was not found on this server.

Apache/2.4.9 (Win64) PHP/5.5.12 Server at localhost Port 80
BUT if I change the config to this:

Code: Select all

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/www/">
   Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
   AllowOverride None
   Require all granted
   AddHandler livecode-script .lc
   Action livecode-script /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/">
	AllowOverride None
    Options +ExecCGI
    Require all granted
</Directory>
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/livecode-server.exe "C:/Users/DEV/wamp/bin/apache/apache2.4.9/cgi-bin/"
It can find the "TEST.lc" file in the CGI-BIN folder (which i still don't know why it's looking for it there but it's ok at this point in time) but it produces the error message that I have posted in the post right above this one about the "could not spawn child process".

Thank you.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9833
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:01 am

I know almost nothing about Windows server, but "could not spawn child process" almost sounds like it's trying to run LC under FastCGI rather than normal CGI. Could that be the case?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

Peter Wood
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Bamboo River

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by Peter Wood » Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:55 pm

livecodeserver.exe needs to be in the cgi-bin folder

test.lc needs to be in the document root folder

LiveCodeBeginner
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Windows 7 LiveCode Server Error Setup Issue

Post by LiveCodeBeginner » Thu Mar 05, 2015 4:48 pm

Hello all,

The .EXE file is in the CGI-Bin folder and the test.lc is in the www document root folder and has been there there this entire time, but I copied the test.lc file into the cgi-bin file because it's pointing there looking for the .LC file and not in the defined document root folder which is "WWW".

As far as the child processes goes I am not sure why that is coming up, but it seems to be based on where you place the commands for the live code "Add Handler","Action" and "Script Alias" commands in the config file. If you put them in one place it produces one error and if you put them in another it gives you a totally different errors as noted in my post above.

Is there anyone that has set this up on a Windows machine?

Thank you for the help.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”