How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
trags3
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:58 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by trags3 » Wed May 21, 2014 5:10 pm

How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?
Tom

Klaus
Posts: 13878
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by Klaus » Wed May 21, 2014 5:13 pm

Hi Tom,

...
launch url "tel:123456789"
...
Mobile only!


Best

Klaus

trags3
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:58 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by trags3 » Wed May 21, 2014 5:24 pm

Klaus wrote:Hi Tom,

...
launch url "tel:123456789"
...
Mobile only!


Best

Klaus
Hi Klaus,
Thanks, I knew it must be something simple.

Tom

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9785
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by dunbarx » Wed May 21, 2014 8:01 pm

I wonder if the OP was wishing for a LC "Dial" command, a la HC.

This generated DTMF tones which a phone could either directly "listen" to, by holding the handset near the computer's speaker, or the phone could be connected to the speaker output jack via an external device. I still use such gadgets today ("TurboDialers")

I see no such command exists, even as a legacy so that old HC stacks would not break, though they would certainly lose that function. I thought that ALL HC words were so treated.

Craig Newman

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7266
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by jacque » Thu May 22, 2014 5:18 pm

HC just played sound files to simulate the tones. You could export those and write a script that does the same thing.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9785
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by dunbarx » Thu May 22, 2014 5:31 pm

Jacque.

Righto.

Craig

trags3
Posts: 418
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:58 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by trags3 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:14 pm

Klaus wrote:Hi Tom,

...
launch url "tel:123456789"
...
Mobile only!


Best

Klaus
Thanks Klaus, Just had another thought is there also a way to send a text message in the same way using a URL?

Tom

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by Mark » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Hi Tom,

This script prepares an SMS:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the text of the templatefield to "This is a text message."
   put the htmlText of the templateField into myText
   put "+01234567890" into myNumber
   put "sms:" & myNumber & "?body=" & myText into myUrl
   reset the templateField
   launch url myUrl
end mouseUp
It doesn't send automatically. It just opens the SMS app, which should then be ready for sending. I think that sending an SMS directly would require an external.

Unfortunately, on my Windows 8 PC, it starts Skype RTE, which doesn't work for me and I have no option to link the SMS protocol to the desktop version of Skype, which would work for me (maybe I get it to work if I write a script to adjust the registry ;-) )

Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

razvan
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:16 am

Re: How can I initiate a phone call with livecode?

Post by razvan » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:35 am

Hello Trags3!
For call a number on skype from your app you can use:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put "callto://004**********" into tNumber
   launch url  tNumber
end mouseUp
For call a id skype from your app you can use:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   launch url "skype:echo123?call"
end mouseUp
All the best!
Razvan

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”