Incremental Color Change Over Long Periods

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

theotherbassist

Incremental Color Change Over Long Periods

Post by theotherbassist » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:58 am

Hi, I'm a graduate psychology student in California, working on my thesis design--Livecode was recommended to me by a professor who now doesn't seem to have much time to help out. Basically, my task requires me to be able to do this:

Fade an object (the whole computer screen) from black to brightest representable white incrementally over the course of exactly 23 hours. I wrote something before (though the file got corrupted and I can't remember how I did it) where each of the R,G,B values increased by 1 every so many seconds... but I'm thinking now that it would be better to use system time rather than repeat hundreds of "wait" functions so as not to rely on CPU and preserve timing accuracy. I will also need to have separate functions that vary in rate--that is, separate functions that fade from 0% to 50% white in 11.5 hours, to 25% in 11.5 hours, and to 100% in 11.5 hours. Preferably, I'd also like to link each fading event to a certain hotkey.

I'm a total newbie, but I catch on pretty quickly. I just haven't been able to come up with any relevant threads so far. Any ideas as to how I should approach this?

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Incremental Color Change Over Long Periods

Post by Simon » Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:43 am

Hi theotherbassist,
I'm a graduate dummy in California

Here is your start;

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   repeat with x = 1 to 255
      set the backgroundcolor of this stack to x,x,x
      add 1 to  x
--you can add wait here
   end repeat
end mouseUp
You can use "the seconds" with a "wait" to get you 11 something hours.