initial method call when app launch

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

monikadhingra

initial method call when app launch

Post by monikadhingra » Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:43 am

Hi I am going to make a multiplatform app ,i want to make a rss call when app launch and want to show result in scrolling list once get data from server ,I am new in livecode ,please guide me what method or procedure need to follow in order to do same.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: initial method call when app launch

Post by Simon » Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:48 am

Hi monikadhingra,
Here is the RSS lesson:
http://lessons.runrev.com/s/lessons/m/4 ... -rss-feeds

Now it is intermediate so you may have to study a lot.
It boils down to
put url "http://myrssfeed.com" into myRssXML

After that it is working with the XML file.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

bbhank

Post by bbhank » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:10 am

Page not found.

Simon

Post by Simon » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:20 am

Hi bbhank,
Seems they have removed the stack.
I have it here but I thought I read somewhere here that you already had the slashdot sample?

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Simon

Post by Simon » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:30 am

I see why the sample is missing.
Doesn't work in LC v7

Simon

bbhank

Post by bbhank » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:52 am

Yes. I have it but could find no info on how to make it work with anything but Slashdot.

Simon

Post by Simon » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:05 am

One thing you could do is validate the feeds
https://validator.w3.org/feed/

Otherwise I'd just step through the code with your feed to see where they break.

Simon

bbhank

Post by bbhank » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:33 am