Beginner Question

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

aqibishtiaq

Beginner Question

Post by aqibishtiaq » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:06 pm

I'm a newbie to LiveCode and loving how easy and simple is it to use. I was wondering if there is a way to pre-populate a text entry field with a hint to what the user needs to write?

For example I am going through the lesson where you create the ticked off application and in the text field, is there a way to enter text that is maybe greyed out a little which says "Enter task details here" or something along them lines.

Basically a hint to what the user needs to write in the field? It may be obivous, but I can for the life of me find out.

Thanks in advance for any help.

sturgis
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Beginner Question

Post by sturgis » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:42 pm

One way you might do it is to have 2 overlapping fields. 1 can be a label field, the other a regular text entry field. PUt the regular over the top of the label, set the text color of the label to whatever greyed out color, and voila. Make sure the top field is not opaque of course so that the underlying field shows through. Then, you can do a check. if there is text in the top field, set the visible of the underlying field to false. If its empty, set it to true.

Me_is_DBT

Post by Me_is_DBT » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:08 pm

I'm a newbie and so I could be completely wrong here, and if I am, somebody correct me, but how about the following for a possible solution:

set the text field to have the hint already in its' contents, with the greyed out colour pre-set in the property inspector.