mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9023
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by dunbarx » Fri Mar 17, 2023 6:31 pm

I have a plug-in stack, in which, among other things, I have a mouseDoubleDown handler to toggle from pointer to browse tool. But when I click twice, I also get the card inspector to appear, out of the blue, and it thereafter toggles between it and the stack inspector.

I never asked for either.

If I comment out that handler, no inspectors appear.

Craig

Klaus
Posts: 13374
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by Klaus » Fri Mar 17, 2023 7:07 pm

Hi Craig,

after "mousedoubledown" "mousedoubleup" will always be sent, too.
So no wonder the inspector will appear. :)
Or did I misunderstand you?

Best

Klaus

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9023
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by dunbarx » Fri Mar 17, 2023 7:47 pm

Klaus.

I get why it happens in pointer mode.

But the inspector shows up when I am in browse mode. If I comment out the handlers, LC behaves; only the pointer tool opens the inspector after double-click.

It does not matter if I trap and bury "mouseDoubleUp".

How does adding those handlers cause the inspector for the mouseControl to appear after a double click in browse mode?

Craig
Last edited by dunbarx on Sun Mar 19, 2023 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Klaus
Posts: 13374
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by Klaus » Sat Mar 18, 2023 11:23 am

Maybe you could add something like:

Code: Select all

...
if the tool = "browse tool" then
  pass mousedoubledown
end if
...
?

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9023
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by dunbarx » Sat Mar 18, 2023 9:06 pm

Klaus.

Could be. I have not tried any gadgets to skirt this issue, which I consider to be odd. But I will try it on Monday.

I would have thought that simply:

Code: Select all

on mouseDoubleUp
end mouseDoubleUp
would do.

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6928
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by jacque » Sun Mar 19, 2023 6:18 pm

I think it's a bug. It happened to me yesterday. I can't remember what I was doing but it had nothing to do with inspectors. I restarted LC and it stopped.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9023
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by dunbarx » Sun Mar 19, 2023 9:40 pm

Jacque.

Interesting, but I can toggle that "bug" very reliably by simply commenting out the handler or not.

Craig

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6928
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: mouseDoubleDown changes inspectors

Post by jacque » Mon Mar 20, 2023 3:10 am

It's worth a report then, along with a sample stack.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”