Field contents > font size within the IDE

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by KimD » Wed Dec 07, 2022 10:48 pm

Hi. Hopefully a crazy easy one.

Within the IDE > Field Properties > Contents > How do I increase the size of the font being used? The current font is just too small for my 59 year old eyes (even with glasses).

Note
- I'm not trying to change the field font size in my standalones. I know how to do this.
- I've looked in Edit > Preferences, but there was nothing in there that seemed to want to let me increase the font size in the IDE (other than for the script editor).
- Ive looked in Field Properties > Preferences. There is an option in there that lets me make the size of the "Home", "Contents", etc buttons bigger, but it doesn't change the size of the font used to display the contents in the IDE.

Thanks in advance.

Kim

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9287
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by richmond62 » Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:01 am

https://livecode.fandom.com/wiki/TemplateField

https://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.php?t=32923

Mind you:

Code: Select all

set the textSize of the templateField to 18
in LC 9.6.3 on MacOS 13.1 did NOT work at all.

It is ridiculous that the preferences only allow you to set the script size for the
scriptEditor.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9580
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by dunbarx » Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:15 am

Kim.

I am not sure what you are asking. Do you mean, say, that if you create a new stack and place a new field on it, (which likely has a textSize of 12) that you want to change that "default" property to, say 16?

I also am confused when you say you have control of this property in a standalone, but not in the IDE. Can you explain?

And is textSize the only property that you wish you could set as a default?

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9580
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by dunbarx » Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:18 am

Just rereading.
It is ridiculous that the preferences only allow you to set the script size for the
scriptEditor.
AHA. So you are looking for a global property that survives sessions? In that case, Richmond makes a good point about setting the properties of the several "templates" to whatever values you like. Do you know what those are? There is one for nearly every type of control, and he has pointed you directly to one of them, the "templateField".

In a sense, when you set the SE properties, you are essentially setting the "templateSE", though there is not actually any such thing.

All: Or is there, and it is just an internal thing?

Craig

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by KimD » Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:37 am

Hi

Its the font size used in the Property Inspector > Contents that I would like to be able to change. See attached screenshot. The default value would have been fine when I was 30, but I'm not 30 anymore ;-)

Thanks

Kim
Screenshot 2022-12-08.jpg

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9287
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by richmond62 » Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:04 am

Then, somehow or other, you'll ned to set the textSize of that field in the revPropertyInspector stack.

Personally I cannot see how that can be done as there seems to be no obvious revPropertyInspectorTemplate stack.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9580
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by dunbarx » Thu Dec 08, 2022 5:54 am

OK, now I see.

Everything in LC is just a stack, and the property inspectors are no exception. For example, the SE is also just a stack, and one can, say, set the backColor of any part of it by normal means:

Code: Select all

set the backColor of line 1 to 50 of stack "revNewScriptEditor 1" to "yellow"
I do this sort of thing all the time to hilite sections of code so I can scroll and find them easily when working on them.

But many stacks are "reserved" (read jealously guarded) within the IDE, and are not so accessible. They can be hacked, but that must be done VERY carefully.

I would be careful if you mess with it.

Craig

Cairoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:54 pm

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by Cairoo » Thu Dec 08, 2022 6:33 am

Within the IDE > Field Properties > Contents > How do I increase the size of the font being used? The current font is just too small for my 59 year old eyes (even with glasses).
Unfortunately I could not find a crazy easy way that does NOT involve hacking the IDE's property inspector stack.

Cairoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:54 pm

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by Cairoo » Thu Dec 08, 2022 6:48 am

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:04 am
Personally I cannot see how that can be done as there seems to be no obvious revPropertyInspectorTemplate stack.
Viewing the IDE's stacks in the project browser does show an obvious stack named "revInspectorTemplate". So I guess it's not so impossible after all.

Cairoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:54 pm

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by Cairoo » Thu Dec 08, 2022 7:29 am

So I've found the following hack:

If you edit the script of stack "com.livecode.pi.textcontents.behaviour" you can just add the following line of code to the "editorUpdate" handler:

Code: Select all

set the textSize of field "htmltext" of me to 16
I've used textSize 16 but you can use whatever size you like.

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by Klaus » Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:07 pm

LC definitively needs a full text editor instead of this ridiculous little field in the inspector!

stam
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by stam » Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:21 pm

Lots of things in the IDE are long overdue an overhaul… I suspect we’ll see a lot of that that in the new IDE that’s in the works… the little we’ve seen of this is that this suggests the IDE will have been pulled kicking and screaming into the 21st century… finally ;)

Klaus
Posts: 13806
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by Klaus » Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:34 pm

Hehe, so true! :D

KimD
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:51 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by KimD » Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:38 pm

Thanks everyone for your information / advice

I didn't feel confident with editing system stacks so I found a work around:

- create a temporary input allowed (not label) field XYZ, with a large font

- edit the contents of that field using the IDE (not Object > Property Inspector > Contents)
Screenshot 2022-12-09.jpg
- then cut-n-paste the finished content from field XYZ into the content of my label fields.

Hopefully the new IDE will give us more control over things like default font size used within the IDE.

Regards

Kim

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9287
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Field contents > font size within the IDE

Post by richmond62 » Sun Dec 11, 2022 5:57 pm

an obvious stack named "revInspectorTemplate".
AND, where would that be, as I cannot see any 'revInspectorTemplate' round these parts (LC 9.6.3, MacOS 13.1):
-
SShot 2022-12-11 at 18.56.15.png

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”