too slow

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Samuele
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:05 pm
Location: Italy

too slow

Post by Samuele » Thu Dec 16, 2021 12:02 pm

hi, i'k at the finish lines of a small android app, for all this time there was something that was bothering me on livecode, that on mobile it is very very slow (unlike on computer), does anyone know if there is anything that can fasten the app? (for example: moving from card to card, showing and hi9ding buttons that have icons on them ecc.)
thanks!
Samuele.

Klaus
Posts: 13878
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: too slow

Post by Klaus » Thu Dec 16, 2021 12:06 pm

Are there any scripts involved in "close-/pre-/opencard"?
Please give some examples.
Usually everything works as fast on mobile as on desktop.

mtalluto
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: too slow

Post by mtalluto » Thu Dec 16, 2021 3:29 pm

Download geekbench and report your overall score. The app is free.

LiveCode recommends a minimum score of 300 for the single core results.
Mark Talluto
--
Canela
design - develop - deploy: https://appli.io
Database and Cloud for LiveCode Developers: https://livecloud.io
Company: https://canelasoftware.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9785
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: too slow

Post by dunbarx » Thu Dec 16, 2021 5:26 pm

Mark.

I tried this. But Geekbench seems to be a general purpose CPU utility, no? How could it deal directly with LC?

Craig

mtalluto
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:02 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: too slow

Post by mtalluto » Thu Dec 16, 2021 8:32 pm

Hi Craig,

Running Geekbench will provide an idea of the processing power of your Android's CPU. Slower CPUs will not render LiveCode other apps as quickly as faster CPUs.

Knowing your GB score will give you an idea of the performance of your device. The OP indicated that their app was running slowly. Moving from card to card seems explicitly slow.

LiveCode mentioned in a webinar for their LCFM project that they suggested Androids have a score of 300 or better. I have an Android that scores 310. It barely meets their minimum spec. But, it can run the Android apps I have been testing quite well. I am sure faster Android devices will be even better.
Mark Talluto
--
Canela
design - develop - deploy: https://appli.io
Database and Cloud for LiveCode Developers: https://livecloud.io
Company: https://canelasoftware.com

Samuele
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: too slow

Post by Samuele » Sun Dec 19, 2021 12:24 pm

i don't think my android device speed is the problem :? i have a Samsung Galaxy S21 (one of the fastest devices today).
Samuele.

Samuele
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: too slow

Post by Samuele » Sun Dec 19, 2021 12:27 pm

Klaus wrote:
Thu Dec 16, 2021 12:06 pm
Are there any scripts involved in "close-/pre-/opencard"?
Please give some examples.
Usually everything works as fast on mobile as on desktop.
for example with this script:

Code: Select all

on GoToSettings
   visual effect dissolve very fast
   go to card "Settings"
end GoToSettings
it takes 2 seconds on desktop to go to the card "settings" and on mobile it takes 4 :!: (even on desktop it's a little slow)
Samuele.

Klaus
Posts: 13878
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: too slow

Post by Klaus » Sun Dec 19, 2021 2:23 pm

What if you use the official syntax:

Code: Select all

on GoToSettings
   lock screen for visual effect
   go cd "Settings"
   unlock screen with visual effect dissolve very fast
end GoToSettings
?

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7266
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: too slow

Post by jacque » Sun Dec 19, 2021 6:27 pm

Dissolve is one of the slowest visual effects, try one of the others.

Effects are cool the first time but can get tiresome after repeated use. I've stopped using them except for feedback on some types of mobile navigation.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9785
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: too slow

Post by dunbarx » Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:26 pm

can get tiresome after repeated use.
Yep. Do it fast if you really have to.

Craig

Samuele
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 7:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: too slow

Post by Samuele » Sun Dec 19, 2021 11:18 pm

Klaus wrote:
Sun Dec 19, 2021 2:23 pm
What if you use the official syntax:

Code: Select all

on GoToSettings
   lock screen for visual effect
   go cd "Settings"
   unlock screen with visual effect dissolve very fast
end GoToSettings
?
still, on some things it works but on other its still slow for example this:

Code: Select all

on showRelated
   
   lock screen for visual effect
   show graphic "GrayThing"
   show widget "TypeUser" 
   show button "Ok"
   show button "Cancel"
   unlock screen with visual effect iris open very fast
end showRelated
Samuele.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9785
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: too slow

Post by dunbarx » Mon Dec 20, 2021 1:18 am

Hmmm.

Very fast is usually, er, very fast. We may need to see the stack.

Craig

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”