How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

sc12
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 2:04 am

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by sc12 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:00 am

Hi all,

Thanks for the help and replies!! Actually I just wanted to display 3 images with 3 bullets on my login page card to provide a rough depiction/description of the objectives of my app :)

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7405
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by dunbarx » Tue Jan 12, 2021 3:24 am

Richmond makes a point.

Those are cartridges, not bullets. This is a common misnomer. Anyway, what caliber?

Craig

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by richmond62 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:46 am

Those cartridges contain bullets just as cards can contain bullet points . . .
Richmond makes a point.
Can I frame that and hang it over my bed? 8)

Certainly the 'bullets' thing is widespread in hand-held devices:
-
bullets.png
bullets.png (59.88 KiB) Viewed 1909 times

bogs
Posts: 5098
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by bogs » Tue Jan 12, 2021 12:37 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:39 pm
The effect actually works very well in some cases.
It might work even better if you uploaded that stack so we could play with the bullets.
LOL, I didn't save or code that stack, it was only for illustration, however, if you REALLY like it, I'm sure I could recreate it without any code in minutes.

Of course, since we now know that they are only looking for 3 images / bullets, the point would be kind of mute wouldn't it?
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by richmond62 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 12:48 pm

the point would be kind of mute wouldn't it?
Possibly to the OP . . . BUT not to us kinky types who, after 1000 years of playing around with RunRev 8) /LiveCode
still feel there may be the odd thing left to learn.

The fact that the OP wants to reply with, what is effectively a damp squish to thy and my childish enthusiasm . . .
-
Lego.jpeg
Lego.jpeg (9.72 KiB) Viewed 1890 times

jiml
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:27 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by jiml » Tue Jan 12, 2021 9:40 pm

And here's an approach that uses a field and imagesource:
Image Slider.livecode.zip
(1.7 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Jim Lambert

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:45 am

As far as loading external images that's very clever.

But it misses the OP's point about bullets and so on.

jiml
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:27 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by jiml » Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:00 pm

that's true

bogs
Posts: 5098
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by bogs » Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:26 pm

Not sure why, jiml, but it doesn't appear to work here (linux, lc 7.1.4).
aPic_jimlSlideShow.png
And a 1 and a 2 and a ...WTF!?
Really wierd, too, far as I can see it *should* work, I'll take a look later.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by richmond62 » Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:33 pm

OK, OK: in light of jiml's comment below I've deleted what I wrote here,
and made a newish point:

Expecting something authored in version 9.6.something of LiveCode to
work completely transparently in version 7.x.x of LiveCode is
probably expecting too much.
Last edited by richmond62 on Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.

jiml
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:27 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by jiml » Thu Jan 14, 2021 6:57 pm

Not sure why, jiml, but it doesn't appear to work here (linux, lc 7.1.4).
Could be either or both of those things. I wrote it in LC 9.6,2 rc 2.
I vaguely recall an issue with older versions of LC where imageSource would not properly load images that were remote.
One would need to download them first then point to the local copies.

Jim Lambert

bogs
Posts: 5098
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by bogs » Fri Jan 15, 2021 12:01 am

I see what you mean, from 6.x to 7.x, you'd have to do it more like -

Code: Select all

put "https://i.postimg.cc/4dZsk757/shelby-Updated.gif" into tImg; set the imageSource of char 1 of field 1 to tImg
after that, it seemed to work.
Image

jiml
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:27 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by jiml » Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:23 pm

That was it.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by richmond62 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 7:46 pm


jiml
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:27 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: How to create an auto image slider with bullets

Post by jiml » Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:55 pm

I see what you mean, from 6.x to 7.x, you'd have to do it more like...
Expecting something authored in version 9.6.something of LiveCode to
work completely transparently in version 7.x.x of LiveCode is
probably expecting too much.
I would normally agree. Unfortunately this particular issue is a bit more complex.
In versions prior to 6.x imageSource worked with remote images. Then from 6.x thru 7.x it failed. Then it began working again at some point.
I'm happy it was restored to its former usefulness. Hope it stays that way!

JimL

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”