Customizing Modal Dialog Boxes

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Yossarian1508
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:31 am

Customizing Modal Dialog Boxes

Post by Yossarian1508 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:38 am

I've created a stack and appear to have inadvertently customized the answer dialog boxes. When I export as a standalone application the dialog boxes are using the stack's background image which I'd prefer they didn't.

I'm not sure if this is the cause of it but here's the command I run on openStack:

set the windowshape of stack "negotiations" to the id of image "Shape2"

How do I reset their appearance to the default gray?

Thanks for any tips.

keyless
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by keyless » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:24 am

set the background of stack answer to the gray in message box. I usually set it to white actually because gray is not the default gray, but you could find out the color code for th default grey.

Code: Select all

set background of stack "answer" to white
HTH

Yossarian1508
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:31 am

Post by Yossarian1508 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:26 am

Thanks for the reply.

So does that mean the "answer" dialogs are part of a default stack called "answer"?

Unfortunately when I run this script in the message box I get the following error:

Script compile error:
Error description: Properties: token is not a property

What am I missing?

shadowslash
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by shadowslash » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:46 pm

Hi Yossarian1508,

Try not to change the background of your program's stack, try changing the program's card(s) instead. That way, the revAnswerDialog stacks won't inherit the background pattern you're using on your stacks.

Tell me if this doesn't work. Image
Parañaque, Philippines
Image
Image

Yossarian1508
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:31 am

Post by Yossarian1508 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 7:53 am

That's done it.

I ran this script on openStack:

set the backgroundColor of stack "negotiations" to "white"

and then this script on openCard to set the background of the cards:

set the backgroundPattern of card "FTS" to the id of image "Shape2"

Thanks for the help.

shadowslash
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Post by shadowslash » Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:15 pm

Yossarian1508 wrote:That's done it.

I ran this script on openStack:

set the backgroundColor of stack "negotiations" to "white"

and then this script on openCard to set the background of the cards:

set the backgroundPattern of card "FTS" to the id of image "Shape2"

Thanks for the help.
Glad to be of help. Image
Parañaque, Philippines
Image
Image

keyless
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by keyless » Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:30 am

The code I gave was incorrect, that should have been backgroundColor not just background as I had it and stack name was wrong too. Sorry, had been awhile since I did that. Looks like you found another way anyhow.

Code: Select all

set the backgroundColor of stack "Answer Dialog" to white
This should work.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”