Video streaming

This is the place to discuss anything relating to MobGUI

Moderators: heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller, malte, splash21

Appy777

Video streaming

Post by Appy777 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:48 pm

I am new to Livecode and programming and have just purchased your app. I am creating an app for Android which will give users access to 20 - 40 videos, each 1-2 minutes in length, hosted on Vimeo - (Vimeo pro account).
Will it be possible to do this using the native player, and if so could you please help me out with providing some tips on how to execute this? Some code would be brilliant if you are able to help me on this level.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Video streaming

Post by Simon » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:46 pm

Hi Appy777,
I take it you've been through this lesson?
http://lessons.runrev.com/m/4603/l/44283-using-players
After that, ask a specific question related to any problems you may have.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Appy777

Post by Appy777 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:34 pm

Hi Simon,

I have looked at that page but there is a note at the bottom of the page which reads:
Using Players on iOS

"LiveCode players are only supported in desktop applications. If you want to use a player in an iOS application you can use an iosPlayer object, this is a native iOS control that displays a movie. For more information on using iOS players see this lesson."

There is nothing mentioned about Android.

Simon

Post by Simon » Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:51 pm

Check out mobileControlCreate in the dictionary.

Simon
Edit; The ios lesson works on Android, there was a bunch of keywords starting with ios... or Android... but I believe they have all been converted to mobile...
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer

Post by sefrojones » Sun Aug 24, 2014 9:00 pm

Hi Appy777,