Android splash screen question

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:00 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5855
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by jacque » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:10 pm

But not on Android Emulator.
Nor physical Android device.
That's odd. I ran it in the emulator on OS X and it worked okay. I didn't try my tablet. If I get some time I'll do that later today.

Edit: Got curious so tried it immediately. I compiled a standalone and moved it to my tablet running Froyo 2.2. It worked. I'll enclose the test stack so you can see if it runs for you.
Attachments
Splash Test.livecode.zip
(125.92 KiB) Downloaded 247 times
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:02 pm

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:46 pm

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:38 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:47 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5855
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by jacque » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:56 pm

For the keyboard problem, delete the hidden field (id 1004) on card 1. I used that to create the title image, but it isn't needed for anything now. The engine is probably trying to focus on that field.

The button issue may be related to a strange problem I had when running your example stack. The opencard message was sent but immediate exited. Even though you'd commented out the environment check, it seemed to block the handler execution. When I removed the three lines from the script entirely it worked again. Probably some kind of engine bug, but try deleting those commented lines. What may be happening is that the button doesn't have time to redraw because the opencard handler is blocking any updates.

BTW, I suspect the reason your original splash attempt didn't work is because you used card 3. The engine will always go the first card of the mainstack when the stack opens, so that's the best place to put the splash. Basically it takes advantage of the native engine behavior without having to do any redirects or insert anything into the message path.

I think you made my splash stack look much, much better. :)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:11 pm

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:05 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

steve10
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 9:38 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by steve10 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:54 pm

This is helpful! Thanks. Will it also work on iOS?

Steve

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5855
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by jacque » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:23 am

steve10 wrote:This is helpful! Thanks. Will it also work on iOS?
You won't need it. iOS has built-in splash capabilities and the standalone settings dialog allows you to set it up. It's all automatic on that OS.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by BarrySumpter » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:22 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5855
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android splash screen question

Post by jacque » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:10 am

Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”