Capture cam image for Android

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:07 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5837
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by jacque » Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:16 am

BarrySumpter wrote:And now no dictionary reference to templateimage.
I see it in the dictionary. Do you have the "All" category checked at the left?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:19 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:33 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:26 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:28 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5837
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by jacque » Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:34 am

A template-anything is just a basic object in RAM without any instantiation. All its properties are the same as an instantiated copy. When the engine starts up, it creates these templates with default values for each type of object. When you place an object on a card, a copy of the template is instantiated in the stack. There are no extra properties in a template that don't also exist in an instantiation of it.

If you are only placing a few copies, or if your copies will be different from each other, it's usual to just drag from the tool palette for each copy you want, and then adjust the default properties to whatever you need. With a few exceptions (to create different types of buttons, for example,) the tool palette basically just makes copies of the current templates. But if you need to create a lot of identical objects, it's often easier to set the template properties yourself before making a bunch of copies. That way you don't have to adjust each one individually.

Resetting the template object simply re-applies the engine's default properties to the object in RAM.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5837
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by jacque » Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:33 am

So within a few hours of writing this:
jacque wrote: The "Close and remove from memory" dialog is, I think, intended to be a confirmation of intent rather than a check for whether the stack has been saved or not. The info about how you'll lose everything since the last save is an addendum but not the main point of the dialog. That said, it's irritated me for a long time and I mildly resent the extra click. So I just bug-reported it. Hopefully they'll change the behavior, which I think was intentional but not well thought through.
I just almost closed the wrong stack because I hadn't noticed which one was frontmost. If it weren't for that dialog I would have.

Now I don't know if I should retract my bug report or not. :/
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

BarrySumpter
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:17 am

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by BarrySumpter » Fri Jun 24, 2011 6:38 am

-
Last edited by BarrySumpter on Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
All my best,
Barry G. Sumpter

Deving on WinXP sp3-32 bit. LC 5.5 Professional Build 1477
Android/iOS/Server Add Ons. OmegaBundle 2011 value ROCKS!
2 HTC HD2 Latest DorimanX Roms
Might have to reconsider LiveCode iOS Developer Program.

Gene
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:48 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: Capture cam image for Android

Post by Gene » Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:26 pm

There has been a lot of much appreciated information exchange in the this thread. However, I can't find where anyone has unequivocally answered the original question (in part) about whether it is actually possible to invoke the camera and capture an image on a physical Android device without crashing. Has anyone successfully done this?

I just installed 4.6.2, and my Android still force closes the moment I try to bring up the camera with the recommended code from the release notes. Similar code that addresses the device's "album" (gallery) works just fine.

I should mention that I have contacted support, and they reported back that the camera issue had been previously reported as a bug and that they are working on it. However, maybe one of the people in this thread have found the answer, and that it isn't really a bug.

Thanks much,

Gene Lambert

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”