Android "Tablets ONLY" standalone ?

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
raugert
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 9:30 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Android "Tablets ONLY" standalone ?

Post by raugert » Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:18 pm

I have an application that is designed for Tablets only, but the Google Play store allows it to be downloaded on phones. This is causing bad reviews from users thinking it's for phones ! (even though I specifically indicate "Tablet Only" in the description :?

Unlike iPads, there doesn't seem to be a setting for "Tablets only" in the 'Standalone Applications Settings" for Android devices. Apparently I can change the manifest to select device sizes (as shown below), but I'm not sure how to do this once the standalone is built. I tried playing around with it in Android Studio but no luck. I hope I'm just missing something simple :)

<supports-screens
android:largeScreens="true"
android:normalScreens="false"
android:requiresSmallestWidthDp="600"
android:smallScreens="false"
android:xlargeScreens="true" />

thanks for any suggestions.
Richard
Livecode Indy 9.6.11 (Stable)
MacOS Sonoma 14.2
Xcode 15.0.1 SDK 17.0

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android "Tablets ONLY" standalone ?

Post by jacque » Thu Dec 31, 2020 6:59 pm

Edit the existing manifest from your built standalone and save it somewhere as a text file. In LC standalone settings, put the revised manifest in the Copy Files pane, then rebuild the app. LC will use your revised manifest instead of the default one.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

raugert
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 9:30 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Re: Android "Tablets ONLY" standalone ?

Post by raugert » Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:36 pm

Thanks Jacque,
I'll give that a try.
Livecode Indy 9.6.11 (Stable)
MacOS Sonoma 14.2
Xcode 15.0.1 SDK 17.0

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”