Page 1 of 1

Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:46 pm
by sirobchGA0cda
Hi all,
I begin with Livecode and I just take a license of software.
When I run a simulation android, I have a black screen on the simulator. I followed the tutorial on android emulator for Mac, but this does not change.
Against by a phone or a tablet that works.
Do you have the same problem or solution?
Thank you in advance.

Bobo

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:21 pm
by jacque
I have the same problem and have asked on the developer list for a solution. So far I have not solved it. My original setup used an old version of the SDK and it worked fine, but after I upgraded to the newest SDK I get the black screen with all test stacks.

If I find an answer I will try to remember to post it here. Right now I can't use the simulator at all.

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:59 am
by sirobchGA0cda
thank you for your response, I will wait until a solution is found.
Bobo

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:36 am
by nicoland
hey,

Had same problem but solved it playing around with the AVD (made other phone, changes platform/api, and tested...)

Its also a good idea to run the avd once (with snapshot enable), when starting click on wipe user data, save a snapshot), it will take a while to launch, then when complete just close it, take some time to save snapshot... and then form now run form snapshot (much faster load, un-click wipe user data) and don't save the snapshot on exit if you want it faster or don't need it.

Also, when setting up various phone like that (for screen size for example), it's faster trying out form livecode a very small app on testing to devices so its quick to upload, if you got the virtual device working with that, it should be fine form snapshot form now (much faster)

I got working virtual device on both sdk 2.2 and 4.0.3 platform,
I am on win7

hope it help,

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:37 am
by nicoland
How, last thing

I red somewhere that the AVD manager but also the SDK manager needs to run when testing, done that myself.

nico

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:48 pm
by jacque
Thank you, I was able to get the emulator to partly work. I made several virtual devices:

Android 2.2: Always launches my apps with a black screen with any test stack. I wiped the user data but it didn't help. I also deleted the VM and made a new one. It opens normally but all my stacks have a black screen. Built-in apps work okay.

Android 2.3: Most successful. Runs well and faster than other SDKs.

Android 3.2: The emulator crashes immediately after launch if you open from a snapshot (known bug in the emulator.) Launching without a snapshot works and I can run stacks. It is VERY slow but I was able to see some layout problems I should fix.

I haven't tried ICS yet, but I am happy to have a few SDKs that work.

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:05 am
by sirobchGA0cda
Thank You,
I tested with version 2.3.3 is it works almost 100%
I just have a problem with a color button.
With the 2.2 it does not work. black screen
I have not tested other versions.
I am also happy that it works with one version.
Bobo

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:01 am
by bangkok
me too. black screen on the emulator with 2.2, even though with a hello world stack, nothing fancy.

i'm in the process to get the 2.3

i'm wondering why livecode doesn't say it before, on the documentation. we wouldn't lose time. if 2.2 doesn't work (a few messages already), fair enough.

anyway. will follow up with the installation of 2.3

*********** LATER
confirmed. Everything is fine in the emulator with the 2.3 (no more black screen).

Re: Black screen on emulator Android OS/X

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:22 pm
by jacque
I figured out why 2.2 shows up with a black screen with my app but I forgot to post it here. My app uses acceleratedRendering and the default is to use OpenGL. Android 2.2 does not ship with the right libraries to support that (tested and duplicated on a few devices and in the emulator.) Android 2.3 and up does support it. I've submitted a bug report about the problem.

The solution, for me at least, is to check the systemversion and if it is 2.2 or less, set the compositorType to "software". That works fine. On other devices I can leave it at the default and it will use OpenGL.

I haven't had any trouble with black screens on launch in 2.2 except when I used OpenGL acceleratedRendering.